We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterside Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waterside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Waterside Bed & Breakfast
1 The Harbour | The Quay, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Wicklow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in the Waterside on the 2nd July with two friends from Washington DC. We picked the Waterside as we thought it would be nice to be close to the harbour, which it was, but even more than that we received such a warm reception the B&B became a lovely part of our trip. The rooms where overlooking the harbour, they were clean and comfy and the staff was so friendly it really added to our experience.
Our breakfasts were delicious - homemade brown and soda bread while you wait for your gorgeous hot breakfast...what more could you want!
I would recommend the Waterside about any other B&B but also the other hotels, personal service, lovely rooms, gorgeous breakfast and a great rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

nice B&B right next to westport quay
it takes about a 10 min walk to town... whre you can find lot's of restaurants, bars & pubs...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

this was a randomly chosen place to stay. We knew nothing about it when we stopped. We were surprised when an American ,Jim, opened the door. Jim was very friendly as was his wife. This inn is in the harbor area away from the main town. There are some restaurants and pubs nearby so it made no difference to us that the town was a bit further away. Our room was comfortable with a view overlooking the harbor. Parking was on the street, but we were lucky enough to get a close spot. not sure how this would be in the high season. My husband was super excited because Jim indicated he would cook anything we wanted for breakfast the next morning. Jim made us excellent breakfast burritos with a side of black beans. not what you would expect while in Ireland, but a nice change for sure. Jim was also super helpful in directing us to a tire shop on our way out of town. I recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This B&b is tucked away opposite Westport Harbour. Catherine the owner was very friendly and the rooms were as expected clean and good size. Lovely view of harbour from my room. It is a 15 min walk to Westport town, but pleasant one, though there are goods pubs and restaurants 10 yards from b&b.

I would recommed this b&b. I paid 40 euro's and stayed 2 nights. I had a lovely room with double and single bed (You would obviously pay more in season)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in the Waterside recently and with 3 adults had 2 children aged 3 and 5 months. The accomodation was immaculate and the rooms were spacious considering we had a travel cot in one. However, it was the friendly and excellent customer service that stood out to us. Jim's breakfast was amazing and especially for the 3 year old who still talks about the garnish on her plate with her suasages which was an excellent touch. We were only 2 mins from the harbour which was fab as there is a playground for kids and also some amusements.

Would highly recommed the Waterside as family friendly and certainly a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

The location of this b and b is fantastic and the owner Jim cooks his breakfast with a real passion, the guy enjoys cooking different breakfasts from omlettes to irish breakfast fresh fish to his own creations. very friendly athmosphere and Jim and his wife know the area extremely well.

we stayed for 2 nights and got great advice on where to eat out , where to drive .

This is the real deal

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was traveling with two 11-year-old boys who have energy to spare. The gorgeous area was ideal for the outdoor activities that kids love. The B&B's owners, Jim and Catherine, are the ideal hosts--friendly and extremely helpful without being at all obtrusive. Jim arranged for the boys to take his puppy on a walk each morning after breakfast, which they just loved. He also had extremely helpful advice regarding parking in downtown Westport and the most direct driving route to Galway.

At the end of the day when we returned to the B&B and I was tired from trying to keep up with the kids, we could simply walk around the corner for dinner. We had two lovely meals at local restaurants recommended at the B&B, The Helm and Quay Cottage.
Our room was immaculate, and had a gorgeous view and a nice warm shower that was especially crucial after a hike up Croagh Patrick.

Woudl recommend this very special place to any traveling to Westport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 The Harbour | The Quay, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.