We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenderan Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glenderan Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Glenderan Bed and Breakfast
Rosbeg, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here two nights as part of a motorcycle tour. The accomodations were beautiful and we had a lovely room. The breakfast was very good too. It is not quite close enough to walk into the town of Westport but you can walk to the Quay and to the Sheen Been (do not miss this pub, very nice). Taxis are readily available and the host Mary can make the arrangements for you. Though the host was extremely pleasant and kind, she did not interact with us at all. Only when we needed something did she speak with us.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely. I saw 4 of them. The one in the front on second floor with sloped ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    25
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our time at Glenderan was only one night, but it was wonderful. Ann was most helpful and a wonderful hostess. The food was fantastic, lots of variety. The room was very elegantly decorated and serene. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay. If we had had another week to stay in Ireeland, we would have gone back to Glenderan and stayed the week. The town of Westport is also good for shopping. Small and quaint. Great stay!

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room on the front of the house. Large windows and open skylights for the cool oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Glenderan B&B is a lovely place to stay. The location is close to Westport and Croagh Patrick. Ann was friendly and helpful. She even offered to post some cards in the mail for us. The B&B is beautifully furnished and is clean. The breakfasts were excellent. The free WIFI was a nice feature. If we would visit Westport again, we would stay at the Glenderan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our experience with Glenderan was the ONLY bad experience we had on a recent trip to wonderful Ireland. Despite an on-line reservation, more than 4 emails, and finally, a follow-up telephone call from the States, when we arrived, Dermott told us there had been a "spot of bother," i.e. no room for us. It appeared that he had a later reservation for two nights instead of our one night which he had accepted.

He did find us a substitute place not far away, but it was not one we would have chose.

BEWARE. Glenderal reservations don't mean much to the proprietors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we arrived the owner had misread the reservation and thought we only had one room for two nights one room for one night. They were fully booked but rearranged another couple so the 4 of us could stay together. Dermott was very knowledgeable about the area and had a few recommendations. We took him up on the drive through the Gap and it was lovely; thanks.

Room Tip: We requested and received ground floors rooms; the front was a good size and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are lovely and big with gorgeous furniture. The owners were very friendly and gave directions and recommendations. The breakfast was lovely too. Lots of parking and within walking distance of both the quays and Adventure west within the grounds of Westport house. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The twin with the king beds was very large with a beautiful light bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room was clean, nicely decorated and fairly large, including both a double and single bed. Breakfast was a filling Irish. I missed the added touches which often make a B&B experience for me. The average rating is based more on what was missing from the overall experience ie, personable interaction with the host, local area knowledge shared, biscuits on the tea tray, good quality toiletries in the bathroom etc. This B&B seems to lack enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenderan Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenderan Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rosbeg, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glenderan Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenderan b&b
Glenderan Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenderan Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.