We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea 2 Summit Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Linden Hall to your Saves list
Linden Hall
Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Sea 2 Summit Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in Linden Hall with my boyfriend and friend, over the weekend for two nights (November 2nd and 3rd 2012). We found the house to be clean, tidy and very welcoming. The service was excellent, rooms were perfect and the breakfast was lovely.
Paul, the manager, was very accommodating as we needed a 7am breakfast, up for a race and there was no panic on checking out on the second morning. He couldn’t be more helpful and nice to us. The hospitality was fantastic, tea/coffee and biscuits in the room ready for us in our warm bedrooms. I would recommend the B&B and certainly will be booking again when we return to Westport.
A really special place to stay, and so close from the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    27
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
101
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at some incredible B&B's while on our vacation in Ireland. Overall, this one was ok. Our room was very clean (you could still smell the bleach in the bathroom) but also very very cold. The heaters didn't work so well. We were also given a "family room" which had two bedrooms but there were also two doors into our room, only one of which we had the key for. It was just a little creepy.

Breakfast in the morning was decent, your typical Irish breakfast. Our host, Paul, was very polite and attended to anything we needed. All in all, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear KlorineHead,
Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry to hear you found the room cold and you thought 'the heaters didnt work so well'.
All the rooms in the house are heated by central heating/radiators which come on periodically by timer. A system you find in most irish houses. Because the central heating is not on 24/7 we provide a separate electric plug in heater in every room for guests comfort. There are in fact two of them in the family room you were in, to cover the two sections of the room. Guests can use these heaters if they need extra heat any time of the day. They do take a few minutes at the begining to heat up so i am assuming that is why you thought they 'didnt work so well'.
There is also an electric blow heater in every bathroom which provides instant heat if you need it to take a shower.
The family room you had has two doors, one of which is permanently locked. We usually only give guests one key to the main room. If you would have felt more comfortable or secure by having the other key to the other door we would have been happy to give it to you. It is a pity you didnt mention it to us.
Thankyou very much for your positive comments on breakfast and service provided.
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in Linden Hall and would like to recommend it as a really good find. The owner was very welcoming and attentive. The cleanliness was second to none. I was there with a friend who is Australian and I was delighted with the welcome and standard of service. Well done

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Birgitta j,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Linden Hall. I am delighted that you felt you recieved a warm welcome and that you were happy with the service you recieved. We aim to provide good service in a relaxed and friendly way. Glad to hear you would be happy to recommend us and of course we would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybrack, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were greeted on arrival by Paul, ( who helped with our luggage) with tea and biscuits.
Our room was spotless clean an d nicely decorated. Very very comfortable. Breakfast was great,
lots of what ever you wanted. We would recommend Linden Hall and plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Edel M,
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to hear you would be happy to recommend us. We strive to provide good service in a relaxed and friendly way and It is nice to get such positive feedback. Thanks again!
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury Center, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had just completed the delightful and stressful 5 hour trip from Dublin to Westport (our first experience driving on the left) and were looking forward to some decompression time. We were instantly satisfied when Paul answered the door. He helped us with luggage and had tea and cookies waiting for us all in a flash. Our stay only got better. Our room, including the bathroom, was very clean and comfortable. I especially liked the energy conserving on-demand hot water for the shower. The entire house is decorated beautifully and conveys a very homey feeling. We had a restful sleep and a delicious breakfast with a variety of fresh fruits, breads, and cereals to complement the available hot entrees. Linden Hall is an easy 10-15 minute walk from downtown Westport. The off-street parking at the house is a significant plus. In addition to Paul's superb hospitality, the owners, Steve and Maria, called me each day to ask how we were as they had to be away during our stay. We highly recommend Linden Hall and will make it a point to stay here again on our next trip to Ireland.
John and Cathy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear John and Cathy,
I am delighted to hear about your positive experience at our B&B. Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Linden Hall again some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Maria and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived at Linden Hall and were immediately greeted by Paul and soon after were offered tea and cake. We felt at ease and welcome after a long drive. I didn't have a phone with me and Paul offered me a cell to use as well as helping me get through to my friend. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in Ireland and I've taken eighteen trips there! Lots of assorted fruit, breads, pancakes if you like as well the full Irish which my husband loves. Linden Hall is affordable, has free convenient parking, comfortable room and bed, nice bathroom/shower and is immaculate. It's a short walk to town and to Matt Malloy's for Traditional Irish music. Paul is a marvelous host and will do what he can to make you as comfortable as you can be!

Room Tip: I would say you would not have a problem with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria99-12, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Laci 10,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Linden Hall and in Westport.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Paul.
Best regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I arrived to a very warm welcome from Maria. The inn is clean and bright and our room was the best of our entire trip--very spacious, 3 bay windows looking out toward the town, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was nice and had a great shower. There is off-street parking and you are able to walk everywhere in town within a very short distance. The Mall (canal) could be seen from our room going toward the town centre. Maria was so friendly and warm and had great information for us, including a few restaurants to try that evening. In the morning, we met Paul, who provided us with a wonderful breakfast. We were only spending the one night but would definitely come back here and make it our base for day trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenHall, Owner at Linden Hall, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear jill and Mark,
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Linden Hall. It was very nice to meet you both and i enjoyed our chat very much. Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hall

Address: Altamount Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes, good humor and a relaxed atmosphere in our period style town house in the centre of Westport. We have an excellent location in the centre of Westport and are easy walking distance to Matt Molloys, Traditional Music Pubs, Restaurants, Hotels, leisure centers, train station, bus stops. All bedrooms have high ceilings with a touch of old world elegance and each has en-suite, TV & Tea/Coffee facilities. We are a non-smoking house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Linden Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.