We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyatt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyatt Hotel to your Saves list
The Wyatt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Octagon, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Newcastle West, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We found our stay very good overall. The staff were friendly and keen to assist us with our special requirements including an early breakfast. We requested a room not far from the lift and was given an ideal room that was very close to reception and to the restaurant.
There was a few minor niggles, the main one being the wifi and phone signal. I am not sure if it was the room we were in, however despite excellent signal on the hotel wifi, the speed was very slow. The breakfast was excellent, fresh and ample amounts with friendly staff. The dinner was let down by slow service despite the staff being rushed off their feet, we were sat waiting for a long time for the food. The seafood chowder was the poorest I have had - it was totally ruined by a green oil that had been applied on top of the chowder, not sure what it was but it didn't mix with the chowder and spoilt the taste of the chowder.
Parking was a slight issue too. As my husband is disabled, he needs a car parking space near to the entrance of the hotel as he cannot walk big distances. I made sure to mention this when booking however on arrival it wasn't clear where to park. Thankfully an on street disabled space was available and ok until 11am the next day. I enquired about future parking if we had been staying longer or wanted to return and was told the car park was full and to use the supervalu car park across the road. Okay for people who can walk okay but wouldn't return to the hotel for this fact unfortunately as parking would not be guaranteed.

Room Tip: If disabled, ask for a room near to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    175
    60
    24
    21
See reviews for
106
255
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed with 14 others on a stag weekend, at Easter last, We had a great time, the rooms were clean and the bar had lots of cosy corners for small groups. the staff were first rate and very accommodating. the location is the best in Westport with really good food also. I look forward to staying here again..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the best hotel in Westport without question! Fantastic staff and a homely atmosphere makes it a lovely place to stay. The rooms are clean with soft beds! Our room was very very quiet. The pub attached is lovely and again very nice staff.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Wyatt over the easter break Staff were very helpful curtoeus attentive and always polite. Rooms were pleasant and very spacious. Food was 5star quality could not fault it location right in the heart of town. Hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Brought a group to this hotel two weeks ago. Everything was fantastic, staff could not do enough for us especially Barney who is a brilliant manager and a great people's person. This is the third time I brought the group to the hotel and about my own eight time to return to the Wyatt and we have never had ONE problem. The location of the Hotel is excellent, the staff are always very friendly, food is beautiful and the Hotel is spotlessly clean. It is not the most glamerous of Hotels and it does not have its own swimming pool but I would much rather stay in The Wyatt then any other Hotel is Westport!!!!! Well done to a wonderful team

Room Tip: If you have any special requests the girls on reception are more then happy to accommodate these req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went to Westport for the weekend to cycle and walk. We had such a great experience with this hotel - the food was fantastic, rooms were comfortable but mostly it has the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever met. It was superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights B&B, evening meal, use of leisure centre and late checkout for 2 for only €125. It was fantastic. Beautiful hotel right in the centre of Westport.

We had a twin room in the attic which was fantastic, bright and and airy, blackout blinds ensured a sleep in. (Only fault were the creaky floor boards on the landing so you could hear others walking by room, but after climbing Croagh Patrick we were out like lights on our first night). Bathroom also clean and bright with bath and shower. Towels were changed daily and more toiletries left.

Dinner in restaurant was lovely. Service efficient. Also lovely bar with musicians playing in the corner (on a Wednesday night).

All of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyatt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyatt Hotel

Address: The Octagon, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wyatt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyatt Hotel is a gem located in the heart of Westport town in Co. Mayo. The hotel boasts a welcoming atmosphere popular with visitors and locals alike. The town centre property hosts 55 tastefully decorated rooms, an upmarket Brasserie, an adjoining traditional Irish Bar, as well as an award winning Restaurant. Westport is a top tourist destination with hundreds of activities to suit all interests, all year round. The Great Western Greenway as well as the iconic Croagh Patrick are just two of the many attractions for leisure enthusiasts. Westport was voted best place to be from in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Wyatt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyatt Hotel Westport
Wyatt Hotel Westport
Wyatt Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyatt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.