We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay/Terrific City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Distillery Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay/Terrific City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came to Westport in mid July with a group of 7 of us. The city is very attractive and very fun. We were really happy with our 3 nights at St. Anthony's. The rooms were all very nice. The location was great, with just a very short walk to the town. As we stayed out pretty late every night, that was a nice feature (plus we didn't have a car). The owner was very helpful to us, making recommendations and arranging for a taxi at one point. It was the first stay in a B & B for some of our group and they were all impressed with the accommodations and the breakfasts.
We hope to get back to Westport some day and if we do, we will stay again at St. Anthony's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    34
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
75
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week, very clean comfortable rooms which I assume are newly decorated, or if not are kept up to spec really well.. A clean house and the owner (I presume he was the owner! :) gave us some recommendations for the next day and carried our cases up the top floor - which was much appreciated after a long drive!

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently stayed for two nights at this b&b and had a great time. The rooms are average in size with a decent bathroom and tv. Breakfast is well organised and was very good. The location of the place is great, only a short stroll to the main pubs and bars of Westport. The hosts are very helpful and took the time to recommend sites, pubs and restaurants. The beds were comfortable enough but not the best they could've been.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I decided to add this review to balance the feedback and be a little more realistic as I don't agree with the two current reviews. First, the positives.....location is great, an easy stroll into town. There is safe parking and the rooms are clean and decorated nicely. The shower was lovely too. However, I did not find the staff in any way welcoming or friendly. The breakfasts (We tried 3 different types were ok, but nothing special due to the poor quality bacon and Sausage. Didnt see these famous scones anywhere when we stayed recently! The fruit and yogurt was nice. The TV in the bedroom only had 3 channels, and in this day and age that is unforgiveable!! If was going back to Westport I would try another B&B but mainly because of the coldness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This B&B exceeded my expectations. We were a couple traveling with a friend, and we got room number 9, which has a shared bathroom. The tub is roomy and includes a wonderful whirlpool-our friend actually stayed in and took a hot bath while we went to see Westport. There's plenty of privacy though. There's a nice garden area behind the B and B, which we didn't hang out in because of the rainy weather. Even better, the river was right outside my window. Literally. I found that very interesting; I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere where the river was almost the height hof my window. It gave it a surreal quality. I was offered a wide choice of breakfast, and chose French toast, which was nice. There's no French toast where I live.
West port is a lovely town anyway. We would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This gem in Westport is not to be missed. A small B&B just a few blocks off the city center, it is perfectly located to restaurants, shops and venues but manages also to be quiet and tranquil. Rooms are either in the main house or in an out building along the river. The more rustic riverside rooms are perched on the river and front onto a beautiful stone wall enclosed lawn. Each room is unique and has a different combination of amenities (so be specific about what you want). Tubs, rocking chairs, multiple beds, writing tables, flat screen TV's are all available but not in the same rooms. We stayed in the (riverside) room 10 for 8 days and would have happily stayed longer. Next time we come, it will be in room 6! (or 10, or...).
Linda and Paul, who built and manage the B&B, are wonderful; a perfect combination of available and helpful but not doting. As importantly, the weekend coverage is as good. Breakfast is perfect...lots of flavors, lots of options, fresh local food expertly cooked with a willingness to serve what is wanted. The B&B is a few short blocks to the greenway, 42km of off road walking/biking trail. A bike rental is a block away. For no additional fee they will drop you 42 (or whatever you want) km away and pick you up at any time you get tired, bored or rained out. This B&B is a labor of love and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are quiet but a bit more rustic; rooms in the house are a bit more polished but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

No expense has been spared in refurbishing St Anthony's. We were in room 2 and I suppose the others are just as good. In our room was our own wifi access point. Breakfast is excellent, the chef making his own delicious recipe scrambled egg, and obviously proud of his excellent cooking.
With absolutely no complaints about St. Anthony's we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Distillery Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Anthonys is a charming characterful B&B situated in its own oasis in heart of Westport Town, Co. Mayo, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.