We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, but expensive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mulranny Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mulranny Park Hotel to your Saves list
Mulranny Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mulranny, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwood, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice, but expensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel with an even more beautiful view. Room was clean and the staff was friendly. Got woken up at 10:30 by house keeping when checkout was 12:00. We're not usually late sleepers, but we were at an Irish wedding the night before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    159
    58
    31
    9
See reviews for
198
249
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stopped here for some lovely soup en route to Achill via the Green Way where we were served by the wonderful Niall . He clearly enjoys working in the hotel as he told us he had been working the whole Summer and had only had three nights out. It is lovely to be served by such warm and friendly staff , with a natural wit and charm. The fact that the staff are all locals is a tribute to the Mayo people involved in building and promoting the Green way . A great holiday destination !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone , N.I.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our 3-day stay here in July coincided with a heat wave and we couldn't have chosen a better place . Our well-equipped bedroom had an inspiring view of Achill Sound , the vista constantly changing with the tide and light : open-sea one moment , an intriguing pattern of sand dunes another . A flight of steps leads down to a manmade causeway which takes one over to a small island across a couple of quaint bridges . Just behind the hotel runs the Greenway , constructed along the route of the former Westport - Achill railway . We've often done the Jersey railway walk but this is actually more scenic . The hotel is attractive and well-maintained , the food excellent , staff friendly - one slightly sour bar waitress excepted . Sitting outside with a glass of wine in the evening sunshine was a delight . Achill Island , Newport , and Westport are all a short drive away . We'll be back !

Room Tip: Sea-view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we visited the area and stayed in the apartments at the Mulranny Park.

The location is fantastic with the greenway on its doorstep, fantastic beaches locally and good local pubs to quench a thirst after an active day!
The restaurant and kids club deserve a mention. Asta and the team in the restaurant continue to serve great food with the usual high standards, and the girls in the kids club keep smiling and encouraging the children to have a ball.

A few items that the hotel should action to maintain high standards are; very few locker keys in the leisure centre (we were told that this was because we were are the end of the summer - this should be irrelevant), 3 lights were not working in our apartment, there was no remote for the DVD player, the sitting room couch is quite uncomfortable, the bed was very squeeky and the apartment could do with a general touch up of paint.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff and quality of food way better than expected. Very family friendly and nothing is too much trouble for staff. Greenway is fantastic and safe for kids. A bit pricey but will certainly return again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Gone in this hotel for a few times already. It's still as good as it used to be. I noticed over the year that the core employees stay the same. I take this as a good sign for the place, and as a guaranty that the hotel keeps its spirit alive. Great activities for the kids (try crab fishing!), great tracks for cycling (no training required, and they have electric bikes if you want one). And my favorite for last: the food in the restaurant is as always a real pleasure. I half starve myself in the day to enjoy the chef briliant skills. Fish or meat, you'll be feeling in heaven (especially if you got a table with view on the bay). Holidays as they should be.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, and at 103 euros a night was massivley over priced! As a wedding venue it was fantastic, but I have stayed in 4 and 5star hotel and this was nothing near any of those stars. Would not go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mulranny Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulranny Park Hotel

Address: Mulranny, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulranny Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mulranny Park Hotel Mayo is an exquiste 4* hotel overlooking the glittering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Fining dining and quality cuisine is at the heart of the hotel. Enjoy the 20m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, outdoor hot tub & gym. We are uniquely situated on the newly Opened Great Western Greenway. This is a 42 kilometer, almost fully off road cycle and walking track. The trail offers some of the best views and scenery in the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mulranny Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Westport
Park Hotel Mulranny
Mulranny Park Inn
Mulranny Hotel Mayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulranny Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.