We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quay Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Westport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
leinster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just back from a four night family package stay at the Woods Hotel. Overall this hotel ticked most of the boxes and was pretty much up to expectations. I would consider it good value and the staff all worked hard. There was entertainment each night in the bar and a children's club which catered for under 10 year olds I would imagine, and also a leisure centre with pool. The issue for our family, with older children, was the very poor internet coverage in the hotel which I reported and was told that the reception PCs work from it also! It was non existent at the end of the third floor and very weak in the bar and reception area on either tablet or mobile phones. Added to that our television was one of the old tube box types whereas we noted a lot of other rooms had flat screens with presumably better reception. I also informed reception about this issue. Apart from this, the food was up to scratch and even very good on some nights. Westport is a bit of a walk but not unbearably so, and hardly a five minute drive. In the other direction, a short distance, lies a grocery shop which just about sells all and around the corner from that a modern harbour area with a few bars and other small outlets. At this point is one of the two entrances to Westport house, the other just before you enter Westport Town. At first I thought the admission price was high(even with a 10% reduction for hotel guests)but it was worth it. This allows one access to the house which is in an amazing state of preservation, the swan boats in the lake, the miniature train journey and then the log boats and swinging ship and Cannon Ball Run. There is also a bar and restaurant available and many more activities but which cost extra! We also brought our children horse riding at Clew Bay, Drummindoo stables where they were looked after by Padraig and his team. It is only 5 minutes on the Dublin road from Westport and the children loved it. Apart from the bustling town of Westport itself the other great attractions are the wonderful coastline and scenery, including Achill Island and the towering site of Croagh Patrick which we somehow managed to scale on the Wednesday of our stay which was a misty enough day but this still didn't seem to deter many other climbers of all ages and from many parts of the world!

Room Tip: Ask about wi-fi coverage in your room and has it got a modern TV if you are interested. Also if you...
See more room tips
Green Features: I noticed five different bins for various types of waste side by side on landings.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    195
    98
    65
    56
See reviews for
258
204
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on a Coach trip with Grand UK The hotel was good with lovely evening entertainment from very tallented teenagers from a local school. The food was good but I did feel the staff struggled a bit with the amout of people they had to deal with. My only other comment was that the hotel was quite a way out of the town and had we wanted to walk round the town itself would have had to have a taxi to get into the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Margaret R,

Thank you for taking the time to review the BWP Westport Woods Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the food in our Lakeview Restaurant and the lively evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the BWP Westport Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have never written a negative review about an hotel before but this had to be done. This hotel was specifically chosen for my 12 year old daughter because of all the activities it provided. Before booking I personally rang to check the activities for her age group and was told there was Zip Wire, Archery, Horse riding and Surfing etc to name a few all part of the deal.
On arriving on Friday 18th July, there were no activities on, told I needed to register her at 5.30pm with the Go Kids. I did this and again asked for a list of activities and times, not available!! I persisted with this and was told There was Surfing available on Saturday at 2.45pm at a cost of 20 Euro!!!
I paid this , there was nothing else available. Arrived at reception at 2.40pm to be told they had no transport and a taxi would cost 40 Euro there and the same back. I was extremely cross and showed it, asked to have the matter recorded and suddenly a manager appeared and provided transport!!!
I left the next day after telling the manager on duty I would never be back, he apologized and took 50 Euro off the bill.
No use, the bottom line is THE WESTPORT WOODS HOTEL IS ADVERTISING A SERVICE WHICH DOES NOT EXIST. I spoke to the youth team involved with the younger kids and they confirmed this. The hotel has no facilities for any of these advertised activities.
Westport itself is fabulous, took my daughter to Westport House and she had an amazing time, facilities, staff etc were out of this world.
Definitely be back to Wesport but would advise anyone to stay clear of THE WESTPORT WOODS HOTEL. Apart from what I have just stated, the food was dreadful, breakfast service was from the 1960's and the portions were a joke.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear DeirdreM415

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. All feedback is welcomed, both positive and negative.

I apologise that you felt we were not offering the service advertised in the go!kids & go!gang! club. This is a very big part of our business and receives loads of positive feedback from families.

The go!gang! club (teen club) has targeted activities for teenagers, including evening swims in the leisure centre, trips to the skate park, outdoor games, movie time and much more. It also includes the activities you mention in your review – these are organised in the afternoons and there is an extra charge for them. They mainly depend upon minimum numbers to go ahead.

Our surfing partner provides transport to the beach when there are 8 children or more. This was not the case on the Saturday you mention and parents were asked to bring their children to the beach. This was not an option for you so my management team tried to sort out the situation and drove your child and two other children to Carrownisky Strand. I believe everyone had a great time and enjoyed the surfing

I’m disappointed that you do not want to return to our hotel but if you do happen to be in Westport again, please call in and we’d love to look after you.

Kind Regards
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On arrival at reception we had a long wait to check in as the lady was on her own. The reception desk itself (although in a huge lobby) is small and very dark with dark wood panelling on the walls - not very inviting at all. Our room was spacious enough for three people myself, husband and teenager. Children are everywhere in this hotel and although a mother myself and used to children I was only put out when they were very very noisy running down the corridors in the early morning. There is a total lack of information in the bedrooms giving no information on times for meals, swimming etc. and this needs to be addressed.

The staff at the restaurant were very nice and you could clearly see the pressure they were under but they kept a smile on their face. At breakfast it was very frustrating because it you had to wait 5 - 8minutes for the food to be refilled, this shouldn't have happened. The bar area was large and bright. We only visited the pool once it was just ok. To be honest I would not hurry back to the Westport Woods Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed on the first weekend of Easter break... Huge mistake! unattended kids running rampant all night . Drunks out side the room door cussing about the FA cup at 4AM. Worthless WiFi- worthless parking! If you want to stay at a 1970s US motel... Here ya go ! Oh!... While the wait staff in the dining room were very nice... The food was cafeteria at best! ... This place almost ruined our vacation

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is more of a resort hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are very generous and well appointed. The restaurant and lounge are quite nice. When we were there, they had live music in the lounge. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear corkyg02,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We would agree that we are situated in an idyllic location which provides our guests with the perfect opportunity to relax. I am delighted that you enjoyed the serenity of our grounds and also the lively evening entertainment.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the BWP Westport Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very focussed on family - lots, and I mean lots, of children. They even have a kids club which is fantastic if you are with a family. We weren't - so kids running in the corridor at midnight was a bit of a shock. The food was good both in the bar and in the main restaurant and the staff -we were served by Michael was very attentive. Room was pleasant and comfortable and it is situated mid way between the town and the harbour so pleasant walks at night - the weather allowed us to do this. The World Cup was on in the big screen but there was some entertainment on the Saturday night and it was very pleasant. Pool was sectioned off in lanes to allow adults -not just parents - to enjoy the pool.

Green Features: Very conscious on paper in the correct bin etc -not just the towels in the bath so this was good
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumanResoucesManager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear TwoHappyTravellers55,

Thank you for your recent review of the BWP Westport Woods Hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. June, July and August are indeed our busiest months for family holidays, in an effort to help prevent noise at night time we have introduced a 'bed-time train' which brings the children to their rooms when the go!kids! club finishes, our night porter also does frequent checks on our corridors to ensure noise is kept to a minimum.

I am glad that you enjoyed meals in both our Bench Café Bar and Lakeview Restaurant, and the nightly entertainment. We would agree that we are situated in an idyllic location and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed some evening walks.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back to the BWP Westport Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Michelle Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#12 Family Hotel in Westport
#13 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Best Western Plus Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.