We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could do with a facelift.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quay Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Westport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but could do with a facelift.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, location good at the edge of the town. Rooms were a bit old fashioned, towels hard and toiletries poor. No wifi in the rooms only at reception. Pool was great...especially for kids as they have two baby pools. Food was nice but menu very limited. On a package and they charged €10 extra for a steak...very expensive as you have already paid for meal. Kid friendly hotel but needs to move with the times.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    182
    82
    65
    56
See reviews for
242
180
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March 2013. Everything was perfect, the staff lovely and accommodating. Dinner and breakfast both fantastic. Great selection at breakfast. It was very busy but the staff were always happy to help.

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 327, gorgeous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the Westport Woods Hotel on Saturday and Sunday the 9th & 10th March 2013. The standard of service we got from the hotel staff was excellent the evening dinner had a limited choice but the chicken and veg was brilliant and the buffet breakfasts were very good with a good choice, The restaurant was beautiful with a view of the lake behind the hotel and the bar area was situated nearby it was very modern with a beautiful enclosed glass log fire in the centre with three TV screens one large,The grounds surrounding the hotel were lovely,The bedrooms were a good size with a modern full sized floor to ceiling double glazed window, with a beautiful heavy curtain, the net curtains could do with a wash, the carpet was good but it was difficult to open and close the door as it was catching in the carpet, there was one double radiator in the room and there was none in the bathroom,it was not on all the time so the room was cool enough as the outside tempetature droped severely, I would like to turn on the heat if I need it,The Leasure centre was very modern it was excellend the staff were marvellous,Over all this is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Lack of heat can be a problem in cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a hen weekend at the Westport woods and was really impressed with the value, cleanliness and service. Carpets all seemed new, rooms super clean and really friendly good service. We are all in our late twenties / early thirties and wanted something really nice to suit all budgets - fit the bill perfectly. I left an mp3 player behind me and the reservations manager is going out of her way to get it back to me. I believe the spa is lovely also but unfortunately didn't get a chance to try it out. It isn't in the centre of town but is really well served by great value taxis so that didn't matter at all. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The common areas like the reception, dining room and bar are wonderful, they are well presented and a pleasure to spend time in. The room was a bit disappointing, the bare walls are quite noticeable so first impression wasn't great. There is no way to lock the room from the inside and there is no "do not disturb" sign. The TV didn't work and the light bulb in one of the lamps was blown, I'm sure we could've of got these fixed no problem if we had rang down to reception but we didn't spend much time in the room so we didn't bother. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We had a dealrush voucher so it seemed like we got our monies worth?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We got a good deal for a weekend here, two nights B&B plus one evening meal and for what we paid it was great value.
Room was nice and clean, The staff were pleasent and helpful and the food was fine.
someone said theTV was dated...so what.
There was a guy singing and playing a guitar in the lounge, he was really good so we stayed put instead of going into town.
There was a stag group in the hotel but they went into town and lucky for us their rooms were not close to ours.
All in all, We would go back to this hotel...if we got a deal.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near any stag groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My second time stating in the Westport woods hotel and once again enjoyed the experience the hotel itself was quiet during our stay but the lively atmosphere in the town itself made up for it. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is great the scones are a must!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel

Address: Quay Road, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Westport
#7 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at the Best Western Plus Westport Woods Hotel and Spa for a fun and relaxing holiday in the West of Ireland. We have a range of breaks to choose from family holidays (with free go!kids! club), themed, weekend and golden years/over 50's breaks. Our guests love the Beech Club Leisure Centre with it's swimming pool and gymnasium, the teen adventure activities on the seven acres of our private woodlands looking down upon Westport House Loch and the space to relax and enjoy a great holiday or break. Everyone enjoys the regular local evening entertainment in the Bench Café Bar. Our unique location helps us specialise in romantic and memorable Wedding Receptions, created and designed especially for each individual couple. Make an appointment with our Wedding Coordinator and she will gladly show you what we have to offer you upon your Big Day. We offer one of the few approved hotel equestrian based holiday centres in Ireland, with excellent beach and mountain packages available all year round visiting areas in Clew Bay that very few visitors rarely get to see. Check out our current and best special offers on our web site. The hotel is easy to find, just a couple of minutes drive from Westport town centre on the Quay Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Woods Hotel And Spa
Westport Woods Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Westport Woods Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.