We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel that has definitely got the X Factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castlecourt Hotel to your Saves list
The Castlecourt Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Mayo Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel that has definitely got the X Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Having stayed in many hotels in Ireland,this hotel has got to be the best,it has the combination of class and comfort in just the right measure,from the warmth and comfort of the bar and bedrooms to the intimate and relaxing dining experiences in the restaurants to the several relaxed seating areas around the hotel.We were so impressed we put together a few verses of a poem about the hotel called " The Castlecourt Hotel",,each line of the poem begins with each letter of the name;

This is a story i just had to tell,
Heers! to the staff for doing their jobs so well,
Everyone out there just give them a bell,
Clearly,i'm referring to The Castlecourt Hotel,

Always greeted by staff with a smile,
Spa sula makes it so worth while,
Treatments done with exceptional style,
Leisure facilities that go the extra mile,

Evening entertainment galore,
Courtyard Bistro,who could ask for more,
Orchard Restaurant,a dining experience you'll adore,
USA,UK and Europeans all know whats in store,

Rosaleen Joyce,one outstanding member of staff,
Thanks to everyone for Not doing their jobs by half,
Here they will swap your worries for a laugh,
Oh,how you hate to return to your own gaff

Thermal Suite where calming effects are their aim,
Even guaranteed to help lift every pain,
Last but not least weddings and Petie Joe's Bar are part of its fame.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    218
    70
    32
    17
See reviews for
228
331
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed in one the rooms with four poster bed - great room with complimentary wine and water. Comfortable, huge bed and very quiet. Pleased to note that hotel have placed reminders around the hotel that other guests are resting which I had never seen in any other hotel and it is a nice reminder for everyone to keep the noise down. Great staff, great food, music in bar and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Brilliant hotel! Staff very friendly! We'd the best craic ever in the hotel's bar both nights of our stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The service in this hotel is wonderful.Very well managed with the best staff we have ever encountered.The food, the rooms, the amenities are just excellent.We have stayed here on many occasions and always find it a wonderful experience.We have no hesitation in recommending it highly.It is a credit yo the family, the management and all the staff. It gives great value for money.

Vera and Vincent from Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NornIron12
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Found hotel with ease, excellent directions on website. Parked car in the underground car park (no charge) and checked in, within 5 minutes. Room was clean and warm, one double bed and one single. Sheets new and spotless, bathroom was clean and had a small supply of soap, shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser, plenty of clean towels too. No complaints about either the hotel or staff. They are all friendly and welcoming - but we found this to be the case of all the people in Westport - lovely folk!! We booked for 3 nights b&b to include 2 dinners, our daughter was b&b only (her dinner was of 9 Euro, starter, main and sweet! Couldn't beat that!! Breakfast was a buffet, plus a cooked breakfast as you liked. The dinners changed every night and the service was excellent.

The bar in our hotel was "old style" but not "old fashioned" and the prices were good too. They had nightly entertainment, if you fancied a dance, we went to our room early (have a child aged 10) after a hard days site seeing we were all tired. So just chilled out in the room - it has coffee making facilities and a TV - but no fridge or mini bar.

We used the swimming pool every morning which was great (you need a swimming hat, 3 Euro at the swimming pool reception). There is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all of which you can use at no extra cost. However the Spa facilities are additional. We didn't try the Spa, on this visit.

We have no complaints about this hotel, wonderful Westport or Croagh Patrick (which we climbed). Great spot!!

Enjoy your stay ..... lucky you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

when we arrived we parked underneath the hotel. the stairs then took us up into the courtyard and straight into the hotel. were we where greeted with the staff on reception which were very pleasant i have to say!! our room was on the first floor which was great very spacious ... which had tv, iron , tea and coffee facilies and biscuits .. plenty of space for clothes and double bed and single lovely ...
we had dinner on the second night which was abousulty beautful 3 courses finished with tea r coffee oh and free bottle of wine with our meal and because it valintine night free glass of pink champagne .. which was a nice touch ..
we all had the spa treatments which they had offers on ... which was fab and relaxing and the girls were brillant and made you feel at ease ..
we went up the town to matt molloys which is a great favourite in westport with traditonal music , we had a great nite
i loved this hotel as the staff are very friendly and pleasant and made you feel very relaxed and at home ...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I myself have been to hotels all over Ireland, but the Castlecourt hotel is my favourite.Joined at the hip with the Westport Plaza Hotel, (They are both owned by the same people) It is in a great location, very central in the cozy and lovely town of Westport. It had an excellent breakfast.The only negative I could possibly squeeze out of it was that the quite brilliant pool had quite cramped changing spaces.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castlecourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.