We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class hotel for stags” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castlecourt Hotel to your Saves list
The Castlecourt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“class hotel for stags”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel,staff were excellent n very helpfull,rooms were lovely, There were 20 of us in total for the stag and have say checkin in was so quick there were no problems. It is so close to any pub, and the niteclub beside the hotel is excellent would highly recommend this hotel.

James Barry (Kildare)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    233
    78
    34
    20
See reviews for
243
356
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a base for a weeks holiday in the west. The hotel was very nice. Breakfast was great everyday-freshly cooked, not buffet which is always a plus in my opinion. Didn't have any evening meals there. Ate in the cafe one day-huge portions & good food. Bar was busy every night. Weather was amazing while we were there so we didn't use the pool or leisure centre-we were out & about every day. The view from our room was terrible-looking at a concrete wall! We really should have asked to be moved but we knew we would be out all day every day. Otherwise the room was very nice. Staff were very friendly-couldn't fault them! Really nice hotel but not quite 4* standard in my eyes but maybe looking at a concrete wall first thing in the morning every morning for five days tainted my view. Very central location & loads of restaurants & bars with live music within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel but request a room over looking the courtyard.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights b/b and 2 evening meals in this hotel.the room was very comfortable,shower brilliant ,no noise,even with the window open.The hotel throughout was very warm and welcoming. all meals were excellent.the Bar and Dance floor and Music,every night was very much appreciated.
you can join in or find a quite spot at all times throughout the hotel.you would not have to leave this hotel for anything,It has the lot for a break away, for the young or older visitor.Will call again..

Room Tip: All rooms have interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very central. Great staff so friendly and helpful even though the hotel was very busy when we were there. We had a lovely big room which was great because it was so hot. The food was really good, had salmon twice for breakfast- delicious. And 2 lovely dinners.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Highly recommended hotel. Lovely large clean room, though a bit of a walk from reception! Access to the swimming pool was a bonus. Very friendly staff and all local. Only disappointing thing was the French toast for breakfast as it had been deep fried and was very greasy. Very handy for the town. Had an excellent dinner and was great just to go next door to the bar where the entertainment was excellent.

Room Tip: Remember your swimming cap if you are not Irish - you need one to go into the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There was a group of 12 of us booked in for my sisters hen weekend and have to say we are now making it an annual event. The staff were so friendly, we had cocktail lessons which was the best crack ever. The spa I have to say is one of the best spas we have ever been in , it was amazing. We had dinner in the hotel on 1 night and the food was gorgeous. Couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights over an extremely busy weekend at the end of June in the Castlecourt Hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a welcome and big smile from the receptionist. Check in was smooth and efficient and we made our way to our room. It overlooked the courtyard which we initially were worried about on account of noise from traffic / weddings etc but we didn’t hear a thing. Breakfast was included which we availed of every morning. Again it was so busy but we did not wait any time at all for our cooked breakfast. The hotel is in a fab location. Of note there is a Dunnes Stores across the road and they had a bank machine. I availed of the Spa and it was wonderful. I found all the staff and management beyond helpful and friendly which left no doubt in our minds that we would return. We realised when we returned home that we had forgotten our I-Phone Charger. With 24 hours of contacting the hotel we had our charger posted and with us. I can’t recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#9 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castlecourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castlecourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.