We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for A Hen Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Castlecourt Hotel to your Saves list
The Castlecourt Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
1 review
“Ideal Location for A Hen Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I organised a hen party in March 2013 for my sister. We had a delightful stay in the Westport Plaza & Castlecourt Hotel. All the hens commented on the excellent service from all the hotel staff. The Sula Spa provided pure relaxation. The bar staff that gave the cocktail making class provided pure fun & entertainment & the evening meal was top class. I would like to extend a warm thanks to Donna Gibbons & all the hotel staff who made the hen party both enjoyable & unforgettable. (",)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    217
    70
    32
    17
See reviews for
228
331
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greystones, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night say in the Castlecourt hotel. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We brought our own bicycles to cycle the Western Greenway and the hotel offered a secure lock-up for them. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Castlecourt is twinned with the slightly more expensive and more elegant Westport Plaza next door and share some facilities. If the Spa is your thing then I might suggest the Plaza since this is connected to the spa versus an outside walk so you can stroll there in your robe.
Our stay at the Castlecourt was very enjoyable. The hotel has a tourist feel to it, and had an elderly clientele when we were there and quite busy. The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds – we slept very well. We had booked a deluxe room which was very comfortable and oversize, but friends had a standard room and were very happy with the size of the rooms. The difference would seem to be the 4 poster bed and the Jacuzzi tub.
We were on a spa and dinner package which was very good value. The Orchard restaurant though was a disappointment for dinner with a menu that goes back to the 70s – just needed a prawn cocktail to round it off! Sadly my wife had to send her turkey dinner back as it was dry. On the other hand my lamb was quite good. The next night we opted for the fine dining Merlot restaurant in the sister hotel next door which was well worth the €5 supplement and was a stunning meal – wish we’d eaten there both nights. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good. I could complain that the fruit selection was not very big, but frankly, for the price we paid, we got more than good value and great service so I’m happy with the unlimited cooked breakfast.
Spa was fantastic – but most of all the hotel is to be commended for the service from the staff. Blathnaid in reception in particular was brilliant, friendly and informative guiding us through our stay. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Supplement to eat in the merlot next door is WELL worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connemara
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was part of a group who had a lunch in this hotel during the week, the lunch was perfect for those who wanted the full dinner menu but afew wanted just a salad which was very disapointing, chopped iceburg/red and green pepper, tomato no advocado or any other salad leaves- very basic.
Hotel is well positioned to walk into town. Won't return for lunch that's a personal opionion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Positives: facilities are great, there is a choice of restaurants which offer very good value, the location is great, staff are friendly and very welcoming towards children, we got exceptional value for money. Our kids loved the library.. I would give this hotel 5 out of 5 if it weren't for the room we got (see negatives, below).

Negatives: the room wasn't great. It was non-smoking, but smelled of cigarettes. There was frosted glass that we couldn't see out of. The double bed was tiny. The carpet was shabby. The bathroom didn't have a window, only a very noisy fan. The toilet didn't flush properly, the toilet door had one of those 'push button' locks that parents dread. Our daughter decided to lock herself in but we managed to talk her out, thankfully. The toilet door had a big crack on the inside as if someone had kicked it. The paint was peeling from the toilet walls in places. We could hear our neighbour's intimate moments, snoring habits and toilet sound effects. I'm sure they heard our noisy kids too. Our elderly neighbours across the hall obviously had hearing problems as their telly was extremely loud. Sleep was an issue due to the negatives.

Summary: I'd go back if we had a better room, our kids weren't too bothered - they loved it. The staff must get another mention too - they all seem to work very hard. Thanks to them it was an enjoyable experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms without frosted glass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and enjoyed the hotel. It's a pretty hotel with a nice courtyard area in the back to enjoy drinks. Our room was nice but one of the window sheers had a big tear in it so it made the room seem a little shabby. I'd recommend the hotel for getting groups of people together.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Attended here as part of a wedding last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The wedding had 350+ guests and I found the service to be impeccable. The food, for a wedding, was excellent and I really found it hard to fault the place. Didn't stay the night, as I come from nearby, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#5 Family Hotel in Westport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castlecourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.