We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional style amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castlecourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castlecourt Hotel to your Saves list
The Castlecourt Hotel
Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Westport
7777
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A traditional style amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently as I was attending a wedding there.
What an amazing hotel, and truly amazing staff throughout.
We were welcomed by a beautiful Irish receptionist who provided all the
information we required with a lovely warm smile.
All the staff were so genuine (and not trained like robots)it was clearly evident
that they enjoyed their work. It was really refreshing to visit a traditional Irish hotel
and find that the old fashioned values of well trained staff still exists.
This is what visitors expect when they visit one of the friendliest countries in the world.

There were several christmas trees in various locations: all with traditional decorations,
they even had a beautiful crib in the lobby area. All in all a truly christmas atmosphere.
If you choose this hotel for your christmas break, you will not be disappointed.

Our room had a four-poster bed and was impeccibly clean and well supplied.
The welcome tray was fully stocked with an abundance of quality teas and coffee.
(This is so important as several hotel only provide the bare minimum )

We had an amazing meal at the weeding function, with the offer of second helping.(not that
they were required as the portions were so large). The breakfast was brillant and cooked
to perfection. There was a wide choice available. My sister attended the same wedding.
She is a celiac and they were not pre warned. The waitress was so apologetic and within
ten minutes arrived with her special bread toasted, and the chef prepared her food without
sauces etc. I was so impressed. She never experienced that any where, as she usually brings
her own special food.

There was a large car park in the hotel, a real treat in any location.

I noticed a large framed poster on the wall with all the staff whom received
various awards for service and productivity. I noticed some were there for several
years. Again this confirmed my finding of a truly amazing faultless hotel.

I will definately go back there. I will recommend it at every opportunity.

Congratulations to the management and exceptional staff.


Extremely happy customers.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    218
    70
    32
    17
See reviews for
228
331
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allgäu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

To start with the positive: location is good, mid-week there were plenty of spaces in the car park and the reception was polite and friendly. The room was standard but certainly adequate; the only problem was the fact that there was a loud, motor-like noise (from the heating system?) which at least was switched off at night.
Things started to go badly wrong when I went to dinner – at the bistro because the restaurant was closed, for reasons not given and with no prior notice. But it would be exactly the same meal, they reassured me. I’ll leave out the details of a rather awful meal and chaotic service because the hotel did apologise: not on the spot, when my polite complaint was equally politely brushed off; but subsequently, on receiving my email giving the details. Fair enough: mistakes are made and the hotel was prepared to take responsibility for its mistakes, which is the main thing.
I can only finish with my own personal impressions: I suspect that this is a hotel focussed on wedding parties, hen parties, stag parties and the likes. And not adapted to the individual traveller, certainly not to the business traveller which I was. But I will give at least the restaurant another try, next time I’m in Westport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends stayed here on the 8th of December. From check in to check out we couldn't have been treated any better. The girls on reception, especially, were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Great location in westport. Lovely big, clean triple bedroom. Didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant or spa but will definitely be back to do so!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the 1st review i have written all because this place is so great! Me and 20 girls stayed in the Castlecourt hotel for my hen party and it was so good that i had to take my Husband back to experience it. The staff could not do enough for you, they are so friendly and helpful. The Orchard restaurant is out of this world. 5 star dining. Joshua was our waiter and i have never received better service. The hotel is so clean, warm and welcoming. We will definitely be back just to stay here! Central location and great parking. Make sure and visit the Spa, i got my make up done by a very talented girl. Well done Castlecourt....my favourite hotel now :)

Room Tip: Any room is great as long as its in the castlecourt
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent three nights at this wonderful hotel, it was warm and clean with an old world charm whilst maintaining the highest standards in decor etc.
We had a junior suite, it was huge and airy, spotlessly clean and comfortably warm. The bed was huge. Food was excellent as was Waiting Service. Have nothing but good things to say about this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Home last night from the Castlecourt Hotel. Was there from Sun to Friday. Everything was great. The room was big and the bed very comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The leisure centre was great . Clean and well maintained.
I loved the Spa Sula . The Orchard restaurant where we dined on two nights was really good. the extra of leaving two small bottles of wine in our room on the night of our anniversary was a lovely touch. have stayed in many four star hotels before. The Castlecourt was by far the best. Couldn't say enough to praise it. Would recommend it to anyone and hope to make a return visit.

Room Tip: At the back but not beside the bit of roof holding the heating ducts or what ever they were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am just back from a weekend minibreak with my husband and kids.
Everything about this hotel is fantastic. Very family friendly, swimming pool fabulous, reception staff, restaurant, barstaff, everybody was so nice and friendly, even when my little girl had them pestered looking for extra keys to our room. She kept losing ours.
Food in orchard restaurant unbelievably good.
We holidayed in France in the summer, next summer we are going back to westport.
Well done everyone. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask the receptionists advice, tell them what you need and they will do more than required to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castlecourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castlecourt Hotel

Address: Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Westport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#6 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Castlecourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecourt Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castlecourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.