We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Drive on Achill Island

Atlantic Drive on Achill Island
Westport, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Westport
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I first went here in August 1968 on a family holiday in Keel as the Russian tanks rolled into Prague. It has changed and been built up but the scenery is still really outstanding making me wonder why I don't go here more often, not just to Achill but to this whole lovely, bleak area

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    50
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A must do drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We drove to Achill to do the cliff hike, but were equally impressed with the drive itself. Of course the beautiful sunny weather helped, but even in not so perfect weather it is a worthwhile drive!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Achill Island with Kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were disappointed with this for our family party. Our daughters are aged 9 and 12, and after a long drive, not much to do unless you are into watersports.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A stunning place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Achill Island is in the back of beyond but well worth a trip. The blue flag beach is stunning and the visit to the very eerie deserted village is a must.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We drove To Achill Island. It was a beautiful drive it was just a miserable day. Beautiful little treasure of keem beach at the end.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Drive on Achill Island also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Drive on Achill Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Drive on Achill Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.