We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant very friendly atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westport to your Saves list
Hotel Westport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newport Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Westport
tipperary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brillant very friendly atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

When we arrived in Westport to find Hotel Westport was the hardest part t!!Advertised on their website it says the Hotel is in the town centre its not quiet,its approx.10 Min's walk from the Hotel.
When we arrived and checked in the staff are more than helpful and very welcoming.The hotel rooms are very comfy, airy and clean all round.
It was great value and breakfast and dinner is beautiful in the hotel couldn't fault it.If you want a change from the hotel for eating out Mango's Restaurant in the town centre I would highly recommend but you would need to book in advance and J.J O'Malleys also lovely and reasonable!!!
When your in the area i would advise anyone to make sure you take in Achill Is. its absolutely magnificant and spectacular on a beautiful day and their is many other attractions in the area also

  • Liked — Its friendly!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    172
    61
    26
    15
See reviews for
153
199
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The reason for the stay was a team reunion. We stayed for 4 nights. The main acttivity during the day was golf in the locality on 2 superb courses. As you might expect we spent some time in the bar in the evening and had a great time. The staff in the hotel were very courteous, friendly and could not do enough for you.
Rooms are in very good condition and very comfortable. Decorated to a very high standard.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet style affair which catered for all tastes. Evening meals were also to a very high standard, good quality and very substantial.
While this visit was with a group I would have no problem returning with my family. It was a very good experience and I have no doubt that Hotel Westport will have continued success.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room a little dark
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murty17
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

We held our Sales Conference at Hotel Westport over Two Days Thursday 11th Sept & Friday 12th September, we had a team of 12 staying over in their NEW top of the range rooms ( in fact they would pass for mini suites) You should see the Bathrooms- WOW!!!! However The Meeting room was air conditioned and set out to the highest standard with projector and large screen- The Conference manager Rhona could not do enough for us- The porter was at our every demand- nothing was a problem... we ate in the hotel restaurant on the Thursday night and the supervisor Anthony was one in a thousand, his attention to our large group was brilliant, the food was spot on with a dinner menu and an a la carte available - The fillet steak was great- oh do ask for the home made onion rings!!! Again the bar remained open as long as we needed it (some people did not go to be until 5 am!!!) This place has the warmest of welcomes from booking to departure- Check it out I haven’t experienced better to facilitate a sales conference...

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county wicklow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We wanted a hassle free break for all of the family, parents and children, (19 and 11), this location could not have been better, the staff just seemed to have the required understanding as to our needs for the holiday.
Even though the staff were busy, they always made the children feel welcome, and this of course allows the parents to relax, the swimming pool area was spotless, leisure facilities were adequate for all ages.
The hotel is located just three minutes walk from what I can only describe as the cleanest town we have ever visited in Ireland, the access was via a river walk that was well maintained and presented, it seems like the hotel and the town council must coordinate the maintenance of the tree lined walkway along by the spotless river bank.
Food was good and well presented, and the younger generation were catered for without any problem, even in the evening times (at dinner), here the staff were young and pleasent to a fault.
This was a memorable experience, we will be back again, well done to the management and staff, feel proud, there are not many hotels left in Ireland that care for their customers as you do. Thank you.

  • Liked — Facilities and staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend break and can truly say that we had a wonderful stay here and the hotel saved the day - we had orginally booked the Breaffy House Hotel and it was terrible, so much so that we checked out immediately and phoned the Hotel Westport. They were very welcoming and provided a great room, The food was super and our 4 year old adsolutely loved the kids club - the hotel is modern but also very homely and friendly - staff are a credit to the hotel. Will definately return!

  • Liked — Kids club, food and service
  • Disliked — Room slightly dated but all rooms are being refurbished to same standard
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from a short break at the Hotel Westport. The hotel was a great balance between formal and informal. I don't like places which are too stuffy but I want a certain degree of comfort and respect which I found at Hotel Westport.
I loved its location beside a beautiful river and a few minutes walk from the town centre. It had loads of places to sit outside which were very relaxing when the sun came out!
Our deal included breakfast each morning and one evening meal. The evening meal was ok. As I suffer from Coeliac disease I judge most eating places on their ability to provide a gluten free menu. The dinner was fine but I was disappointed with the dessert. I chose the basket of ice-cream and asked for it to be served without the basket (which I can't eat). My partner chose the same and he got a beautifully presented waffle basket with two scoops of ice-cream, a strawberry, a white chocolate wand and a decorated plate. I got two scoops of ice-cream in a cereal bowl! However I also got a meal from room service which was hot, tasty and very reasonable. Brakfast was the usual choice of hot and cold buffet choices. The emphasis was on full breakfasts rather than continental but there was more than enough to suit everyone's taste.
I loved every moment of our stay at this hotel. There were many children at the hotel as it provided some kind of children's club so may not suit adults who want to stay away from children but I did not find this to be a problem at all.
Staff were always friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — frienliness and helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — small double bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

my wife and i have just finished one weeks holiday in your beautiful hotel. in actual fact it was our fourth time to stay.
the reason for sending this message is to acknowledge the wonderful improvements you have carried out to the wing nearest the dining room.we had the pleasure of staying in room 217.
21st century standard, please be assured we will spare no effort to recommend hotel westport to all our friends. a special thanks to all from front desk to dining room, bar and bedroom room people.

  • Liked — The spacious luxorious accommodation done to a very high standard
  • Disliked — Liked everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.