We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eliz. Comber” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Westport to your Saves list
Hotel Westport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newport Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Comber, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eliz. Comber”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent weekend at Hotel Westport. Very disappointed as I had stayed many times in the past when my children were young. Hotel looks tired and has lost it's sparkle. Rooms and bathrooms clean but in need of updating. The food which used to be outstanding was very mediocre and in particular the breakfast was very basic. Dining room in need of modernizing. We were kept awake at night by noisy neighbours as the room would appear to have paper thin walls! All very disappointing as this hotel used to be really something - one feels it is being run on a shoestring now. Staff were pleasant but will not be returning - certainly not worthy of 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    172
    61
    26
    15
See reviews for
154
199
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A group of fourteen from Achill went to this show last night. We all enjoyed it very much. Great music Fantastic Dancers. Well worth a visit.‘The Legend of Gráinne Mhaol’ spectacular summer show at Hotel Westport contains a wealth of talented musicians and dancers from all over the west of Ireland. Lord of the Dance fiddle player Cora Smyth headlines the show with renowned balladeers James Kilbane and Jenny Mulvey, Latino dancer Pollyanna Guedes, All-Ireland champion box player Darragh Healy and Ireland’s most gifted Sean Nós dancer Liam Cunningham all on board for this magical and mythical voyage into Mayo.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was very pleased with this Hotel which is based in beautiful Westport. We choose to stay in one of the premier rooms and this was a good choice as everything was at a very good standard. Lovely room, well equipped, very quiet. While the hotel is rated 4 star, I reckon that the dinning room should be rated 5 stars. The staff were more than helpful and friendly to ensure that we, and every guest, enjoyed our stay. One small disappointment. The Hotel is situated right at the start of the Western Greenway and is used by lots of cyclists, like ourselves. We found that the storage facilities for the cycles themselves were not up to standard. Maybe it’s something that the Hotel plans on improving in the future. However, it did not take away from our very good experience of this Hotel. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Use the premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I can't quite put my finger on it with this hotel; I've stayed here twice and both times I felt it didn't really leave an impression on me. Maybe it was because I was traveling as a couple and the hotel is geared more towards older couples and families.

The hotel is old-style but our room was very clean and spacious with a particularly comfortable bed.

The bar food is good and the restaurant even better. I would argue that the restaurant food is better than Temptations in the Mill Times even though the menu is a little less complex. The standard of service in the restaurant is exceptional. And they were very good with children.

The location is fine, about a 10 min walk to the town centre. Westport House is just around the corner from the hotel.

Overall our experience was good but it was expensive. For another 50 euro per night we could have stayed in some top class hotels like the Europe in Killarney or Monart in Wexford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from a lovely relaxing three night stay at Hotel Westport - two adults and a five year old. We were checked in by Kathleen who was very friendly and made our son feel so welcome and told him everything about the brilliant Panda Club! Our room was facing the back carpark and we had no noise problems whatsoever. Air conditioning would have been nice but we didn't have it in our room. The room was spacious, clean and daily housekeeping service was excellent. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
We ate a light meal in the bar on our first night and then a more substantial meal on our last night. Food was good quality for bar food and lots of people seemed to think the same as it was very busy for food in the evenings (on our second night we dined at La Bella Vita restaurant in town - see separate review) I couldn't possibly speak of the bar without giving a special mention to the staff. They were all just so friendly and helpful. John, Bar Manager was super. He found out our son's name and remembered it every evening we came in. He's fantastic with children and really made our son feel important. He's a wonderful asset to the hotel and was always so cheerful and helpful. He gave our son a lovely jigsaw on our last evening which delighted the little man. I'm kind of surprised that I haven't seen his name pop up in other reviews. Anyway, a big thank you to John! The bar was quite big and was very comfortable with a great cocktail menu and a good wine list for wine by the glass!! Gorgeous Baileys coffee too.
Breakfast was very nice. I'm not really one for a full Irish so I asked for some cold meats / cheese every morning and the chef send out a lovely platter with three or four varieties of meats (including Parma ham). They serve lovely brown bread and scones!! There is a special separate breakfast service for kids that they can partake in if they wish called the Breakfast Train. Staff come and collect them at their room and all the children go together to their own separate dining room where there is a movie showing! This gives the Mums and Dads some time out to enjoy their own breakfast.
We spent a day at Westport house / Pirate Adventure Centre which is wonderful for children and only a short walk from the hotel. Unfortunately it poured rain for the entire day we were there but we still managed to enjoy it.
The kids clubs are great - there are two. One for the younger children and another for older children and teens. These provided a lovely range of activities such as facepainting, crazy golf, rice krispie bun making (!!) and lots of other things. It's an ideal place to drop the children while you're having dinner. We left our son for a couple of hours every evening and the biggest problem we had was that we couldn't get him to leave!! They show a movie every evening to them to help them wind down for the night I guess. Children were welcome in the bar at night and lots of them came in with mums and dads but I didn't notice any noise or running around as such.
Overall, I would say that the hotel is a top place for families with children and I wasn't surprised to see that they had won a Georgina Campbell award for Best Child Friendly Hotel 2013.
I can't fault the hotel at all except that maybe all the rooms could do with airconditioning as it was quite warm at night and possibly a bit of a facelift as some are a bit dated.
We will be back without a doubt. Thanks Hotel Westport!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

had lovely break in this clean well run hotel with friendly staff and a lovely leisure centre. breakfast good too service spot on .entertainment in bar each night could not fault.handy for town few mins walk away

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We hosted a family gathering at the hotel last weekend. The highlight a dinner/ceili for 120 people gatherers. Rhona the catering manager was super - organising the whole evening - menus, band, dancers, sorting out seating, room etc. Everyone was very happy with their meal and the fun at the ceili. The hotel itself served a great location catering for a very wide age range from babies to great grannies! The rooms were very comfortable, the hotel were very flexible in catering in the bar or restaurant for informal assemblies. All in all a great hotel for big event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.