We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Westport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Westport

Save Saved
You added Hotel Westport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Westport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newport Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Westport
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wedding in Westport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We travelled to Westport for a Wedding last week-end 9th, 10th & returned on 11th March 2012. Stayed at Hotel Westport for 2 nights as it was good value! The staff were really friendly & efficient. We had a lovely meal on arrival.The beds were most comfortable & we enjoyed a superb breakfast. Also use the Spa & swimming pool which was great.Thanks to Hotel Westport - we would recommend this 4 Star hotel highly! Maura & Christine

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    150
    52
    23
    14
See reviews for
141
182
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Westport in January. Really nice hotel and staff. . . normally this hotel is outside price range but this was really good value. Short walk to Westport town which is always a pleasure to visit

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Thanks Hotel Westport! Beautiful room and really friendly staff. They even made us packed lunches for our cycling trip on the greenway. Everyone of the staff were friendly and welcoming without exception. Hotel is right near the town rooms are 4 star quality. Enjoy! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We organised a weekend away for our parents for Christmas and then decided to go the following February. The Panda Club is very good for kids even the adults to took part in the family quiz in the evening as well !!

There was a superb level of service for such a large group. We really had an enjoyable weekend thanks to the staff of Hotel Westport !! Recommend a great relaxing weekend for all the family !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Westport last Saturday night as part of a weekend away cycling. I loved this hotel. The staff were lovely from when we checked in, our room wasnt ready as we arrived early, so we waited in the bar, and they came and found us with our key when the room was ready.
The room was lovely! Really nice decor, gorgeous bathrooms, really comfortable. The only thing i think was missing was that there was no water, as a lot of hotels i have stayed in recently have a few bottles of complimentary water available in the room.
We went cycling, and when we got back the hotel stored my bike away securely until the following morning.
Ordered breakfast in bed, which was lovely, and we were a bit late checking out, but there was no knocking on the door or phone calls to the room like some hotels do. I will definitely be going back, will stay for more than one night the next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Westport is a very popular, unspoilt town for holidays and shopping, and has weathered Ireland's biting recession well. In consequence, It's often difficult to get accomodation there. We went to this busy hotel on a discount weekend break recently.
It has an unimpressive appearance at first, looking a little like a school, but things are much better once inside. It's located on the northern edge of town only a couple of minutes walk from the main street, yet is very secluded and peaceful, with no traffic or pub noise. There's abundant parking.
Our room was spacious and well decorated, with all the expected four-star facilities. Unexpectedly, there was a big balcony through french doors, as we were on the top floor.
The room had been heavily smoked in. The smell was obvious every time we came in. Due to today's smoking laws, we were unaware we had to request a non-smoking room ! Many american hotels heavily fine those who smoke indoors, and use the money to clean the room. Perhaps this should happen at Hotel Westport.
Otherwise, the room was fine ( loved the artwork - no drippy landscapes ), requiring only an update, especially to the ensuite. We could hear every word spoken next door too, so proper soundproofing of the party walls would be a good idea at the same time?.
Both food and service were good in the busy restaurant, as was the house red, from a wide wine menu. Breakfast was served quickly from a buffet, but toasting one's own bread took some of the shine off it. There were no croissants and poor scope for a continental-style breakfast, with little fruit, cheese or sliced meats on offer. The evening menu was also somewhat limited and conservative.....only one type of bread available....but the food itself was fine. Our waiter was terrific.
The dull bar also needs refubishment, with tired furniture and decor, compensated for by an excellent barman!
Overall, the hotel staff were very good - helpful, with friendly greetings and smiles. They were the same at the pool ( 20 metres), and fitness room, which was well equipped and airy.......with proper fluffy towels.

Room Tip: In this hotel, you'll need to ask for a non-smoking room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have just returned after five wonderful days in Hotel Westport Room Lovely. Food beautiful. Staff excellent We are both in our mid 60s and we were so well looked after. See you next year.

Room Tip: Prem rooms are a little extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westport

Address: Newport Road, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Westport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heart of Westport, Co. Mayo. They are renowned for their theme breaks, Golden Years, Golf, Walking, Murder Mystery, Bridge, Indoor Bowling, Theatre Breaks and Family Holidays.The Hotel has 129 bedrooms including 6 Suites and 48 newly extended and refurbished Premier Rooms, offering guests a more luxury and stylish sophistication. Other facilities include their Award Winning Ocean Spirit Spa & Leisure, Hair Salon, Maple Bar and Islands Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.