We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westport weekend at Augusta Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Augusta Lodge

Save Saved
You added Augusta Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augusta Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Golf Course Road, Westport, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Westport weekend at Augusta Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a very clean and pleasant B&B with a very a central location to Westport attractions. In fact, it is an easy walk into the downtown area to enjoy nightlife without worrying about driving home. We had the family room with three adults, although it would comfortably sleep four adults. The wifi was good and the breakfast was quite good - Dave's scrambled eggs are delicious! Dave and Stephanie were both very helpful with information about the area. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    69
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
118
228
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We made a last minute trip to Westport and were very lucky to find Augusta Lodge.Dave & his family looked after us very well and treated us as their own.
We had a very comfortable room,spotless and a lovely big bed!
The breakfast was excellent and very generous.
We hope to return some day and meet up again.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 for a big comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

An excellent B&B. Very comfortable clean and well equipped. We were made extremely welcome and the proprietors went out of their way to assist us in receiving a parcel for us prior to our arrival.

We would certainly return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in Augusta Lodge on a one-day visit to Westport on a family-roots quest in the West of Ireland with relatives from the US.

Westport is a nice place to visit; the scenery of mountains and coastline is beautiful.

We picked the Augusta Lodge because it was close to the town (ten-minute walk downhill, probably a bit longer on the return journey) and it had parking. It was an inspired choice; the owner was hospitality personified. He gave us a laminated page with suggested drives (cars, not golf) and even had a book with the menu and prices of local restaurants.

The beds were comfortable, the shower was very good and it felt like a home from home. We had the use of the sitting room in the evening to watch TV (there was a big news story breaking from the US) and there is an AstroTurf putting green out front!! Balls and putters supplied.

Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked to order, and the dining room had the nice feeling of people relaxed and enjoying themselves. We got into conversation with another group from Chicago, USA and our host joined the chat in the nicest possible way.

If you go to Westport (and you should), stay in the Augusta Lodge; I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Rooms are on the first floor (second floor in US) and there is no lift (elevator).

There is music on most nights in Matt MOLLOY's pub in the main street. Matt is a member of The Chieftains (look it up) musical group and only has the best talent to play in his premises.

In short, a visit to the West of Ireland is NOT complete without a visit to Westport and the Augusta Lodge. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Augusta Lodge is on a well-kept, neat avenue away from the traffic. I think all rooms are quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying at Augusta Lodge and will stay there again if in Westport. Would recommend it to any age group. Dave and Stephanie were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Big comfortable bed in a spotless room. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife also left a review but we were both equally impressed so I am leaving similar feedback.

Our family stayed overnight at the Augusta Lodge on the tail end of a long British Isles trip and the Lodge, staff and service received were excellent. Dave and Stephanie were great with plenty of recommendations for local things to see and do. Perhaps the greatest thing about our stay was that a couple of nights prior to our arrival my wife tasked me with sending an email asking if there were any laundry facilities available in the town of Westport. They immediately replied that it would be taken care of when we arrived and sure enough on arrival Dave accepted our bag and our laundry was taken care of at the Lodge. The Lodge is immaculate and very classy. Oh and the Irish breakfast was excellent as well. I would recommend this B and B without reservation to the closest of friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family stayed overnight at the Augusta Lodge on the tail end of a long British Isles trip and the Lodge, staff and service received were excellent. Dave and Stephanie were great with plenty of recommendations for local things to see and do. Perhaps the greatest thing about our stay was that a couple of nights prior to our arrival my wife tasked me with sending an email asking if there were any laundry facilities available in the town of Westport. They immediately replied that it would be taken care of when we arrived and sure enough on arrival Dave accepted our bag and our laundry was taken care of at the Lodge. The Lodge is immaculate and very classy. Oh and the Irish breakfast was excellent as well. I would recommend this B and B without reservation to the closest of friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Augusta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Lodge

Address: Golf Course Road, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming purpose built 9 bedroom guesthouse on its own magnificent landscaped gardens, situated in the award-winning picturesque heritage town of Westport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Augusta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augusta Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.