We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought it was possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Western Greenway

The Great Western Greenway
Westport, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Westport
Type: Biking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never thought it was possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I never thought of cycling 30 km to celebrate being 50, since I haven't been on a bike in years. I was wrong. We were dropped at Mullaranny and cycled back to Westport, it was superb, tough but superb, the sights, the beauty and the sense of achievement.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    96
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“The perfect outing for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Both my husband and I love cycling so when we heard about this safe cycling route we were delighted. The whole route is 42 km but divided up into three sections. Westport to Newport is 11 km, Newport to Mulranny is 18 km and Mulranny to Achill is 13 km. The scenery is to die for when the weather is nice; but no matter when you decide to go it's worth it. Plenty of walkers too. We have two sections done and cannot wait to complete the third. It's something all the family can enjoy and costs nothing. Plenty of fresh air and time together; what more could you want. Come along and see for yourself.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Not too hilly and stunning scenery. As fair weather cyclists this was a great experience. We hired bikes very reasonably (€30 for 4 bikes for the day) and cycled a lovely journey to Newport.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Go West and explore the best - the greenway is a FREE resource that can be cycled or walked and allows you to immerse yourself in the natural beauty of the Emerald Isle. The 13km from Mulranny to Achill is particularly stunning, and best of all you finish at Achill Sound, where you can find a pretty great bowl of chowder and a pint for little over a €10

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Great Western Greenway: Mayo Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The former rail line between Westport and Achill Island in County Mayo has been brilliantly transformed into a wonderful bike/walk way amid some of Ireland's most beautiful and dramatic scenery. The well-paved, 42 km long Great Western Greenway gently wends its way from Achill in the west to the town of Westport, along sea-shore and lake-shore, through bogland and working farmland, with a wide choice of potential stopping points or stages along the way, including lovely Mulranny and the neat and tidy town of Newport.

I recently cycled the Greenway with some friends, travelling from Achill to Newport (31 km) on a 21-gear Kona bike supplied by Clew Bay Bike Hire - in all about four hours' fairly easy cycling. (You can also hire a battery-assisted bike.)

As we set out from Achill Sound on a sun-drenched Spring morning, the sea was a sheer blue shimmering, with its stunning mountain surround dominated by Nephin to the north and later, as we gained some height, Croagh Patrick to the south. In between, as we cycled along by Mulranny, Clew Bay itself shone out, with its myriad islands and the great bulk of Grace O'Malley's Clare Island stronghold front and centre.

As we stopped to take a pause from time to time along the Greenway, the air was filled with the sights and sounds of Spring, whether from the many different bird-calls or from the lambs, livestock and horses along the way. Rhododendron was everywhere, ready to bloom, and primroses were also in great abundance along certain stretches - a rare sight indeed these days.

The designer of the Greenway, whilst obviously having an engineer's skill, clearly also had an artist's eye, as the various bridges across streams and rivers along the Way demonstrate. While some of the little bridges are flat, some are hump-backed and some (imagine it!) wavy, and all are gaily painted in bright blues and greens. There are also a number of delightfully quirky works of art here and there, providing added points of enjoyment for adults and children alike.

Newport alone is worth a visit to the local Roman Catholic church to view the outstanding final masterpiece of Ireland's stained glass artist, Harry Clarke - a dazzling display and summation of his genius.Other highlights of our visit to Newport town were the excellent value of our stay at Walsh's Bridge Inn, the inviting ambience at the town's Grainne Uaile restaurant and the warm reception and good food at Nevins, a few miles out the road.

Overall, though, among the most abiding of our impressions in the course of all of our Great Western Greenway adventures and escapades will undoubtedly be the great warmth of the personal welcome we experienced throughout our trip across the Shannon to the County Mayo: a natural sanctuary for mind and heart, body and soul. Mayo heaven!



.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Greenway also viewed

 

Been to The Great Western Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Western Greenway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.