We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facility.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Western Greenway

The Great Western Greenway
Westport, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Westport
Type: Biking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Chipping Sodbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic facility.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Eleven of us rode from Mullrany to Newport in the pouring rain! (18k). We had intended to carry on to westport but just too wet! Couldn't have been wetter if someone was throwing buckets of water at us!! But what a great day, very well signposted and safe with a very small number of road crossings. We hired bikes from clew bay bike hire, with four bases and shuttle buses running around all day you can do as much or little as you like. Highly recommended for all ages, enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    96
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniscorthy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bike Hire on Greenway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great idea. So safe and wonderful views of Clew Bay! More should be built in different parts of Ireland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The first of many of these cycle trails I hope”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

It is an unusual pleasure in Ireland to be able to cycle through beautiful scenery largely free of the worry of motor traffic. The Greenway is wonderful. A relatively gentle ride it gives wonderful views of Clew Bay and the approach to Achill. Even a morning's rain did not spoil the experience for me. The view of Bellacragher Bay just after the Mulranny Park is marvellous and alone is worth the trip. I took my own bike but there are plenty of rentals available along the way including of kids' bikes. Now for the conversion of the old Galway to Clifden railway to a cycle path.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
2 reviews
“A great ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very well setup track, I had a lot of fun. Towns are close enough together for you to stop and have a wander and use facilities. Seating along the way os well placed to take advantage of views. Only suggestion would be a few shelters along the way for when it rains.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Great Western Greenway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Highly recommend the great western greenway to anyone interested in walking or cycling. Clew Bay bike hire were very helpful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Western Greenway also viewed

 

Been to The Great Western Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Western Greenway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.