We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Personalised Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Clew Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Personalised Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending the 5th & 6th August in this wonderfully run family friendly hotel. We arrived about 1pm, earlier than expected. Check in was a breeze and it was no hassle that we had been early, a quick call from the receptionist to accommodation to make sure our room was ready and up we went. Upon arrival both the room and bathroom were spotless and were kept this way throughout our stay. Everyone of the staff and management were kind and courteous to us at every moment throughout our stay, be it for breakfast, the bar or just passing in and out through reception.
Trying not to name names I really think people in reviews DO deserve a mention. In saying that; the barman/night mgr very helpful for every awkward query, Pawel in the restaurant a very valuable asset to the hotel, A young waiter in the restaurant on the wed night was extremely welcoming and professional, hold onto him! A mention to the chefs who rarely see any recognition, both breakfast and dinner were of excellent quality. Finally the front office team Shona & Mary (I think) always friendly and full of chat.
As a destination Westport is hard to beat and as a hotel choice it has to be The Clew Bay!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Nigel0127,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us with your family.

I think you covered just about every aspect of our hotel's service in your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your family time in Wesport, and I shall pass on your kind words to Pawel, Mary, & Shona in particular, but also across the staff team.

We very much look forward to having you join us again for your next family break to Westport.

Thank you once again.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    158
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
81
211
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crossmaglen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 3 kids. The hotel is perfectly located in town centre, rooms are spacious and clean and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The food in the restaurant and bar was top quality and the breakfast catered for just about anything you wished for! The owner was welcoming and friendly throughout our stay and even kept us in craic on a few occasions! Thanks Darren and staff, we will definately return. Just not sure if I can face gaelforce west again but never say never!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Condorjmartin,

Thank you for taking the time to write an 'excellent' review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you met our owner Darren, and the rest of the staff team. Most of all congratulations on completing the gruelling Gaelforce!

We value all our guest's contributions, and I shall pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We look forward to having you join us for your next visit to Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We arrived in westport train station and I wheeled my sister down from the station which only took about 20 minutes laughing all the way. The accomadition in the Clew Bay Hotel was lovely, comfortable beds and we had a walk in shower. All the staff were so helpful. Had a lovely meal in the bar delicious smoked salmon starter and fresh salmon for main. My sister also enjoyed her goats cheese starter and seabass for mains. no problem with ordering taxies and asked for a bucked of ice in our room. Our stay was very good and enjoyable. Needless to say we got a taxi back up to the station, wee bit of a hill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear193Delighted1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.

We were so pleased that yourself and your sister were able to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are particularly renowned for the quality and menu offering in our bistro restaurant: Madden's. Fresh fish is one of our specialities!

As you pointed out we are within reasonable walking distance of Westport railway station, and a frequent train service to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This Hotel provided excellent value for money , Spotlessly clean throughout with friendly and efficient staff .Foyer area and entrance to Dining Room was impressive for a hotel of this size .
Breakfast was well presented by charming staff

Room Tip: Ask for it !! Receptionist was very accomodating on this issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Ridgefield737,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent stay with us.
We are always pleased to welcome our guests: we like to think you will leave us as friends.
It sounded like you enjoyed the comfortable surroundings of our hotel, and we hope you enjoyed exploring our beautiful town too.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed in Clew bay Hotel for four nights with our two kids. Breakfast room was beautiful with lots of light and the food was delicious, served at the table which was nicer than a buffet as the food was very fresh. Ate in Maddens bistro which is part of the hotel located right beside it which was very busy but the service was excellent and again the food was very tasty.

We had a family room which was lovely and spacious and decorated modern but warm. It was a split level room which i liked as the kids could be in their own area and the double bed was a little removed but still in the one open space.

The use of the pool and passes to Westport house were a lovely extra touch which really added to our stay. The pool opens to 9.30pm every night from early morning which also provides great flexibility to the day.

Great value for money stay, would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear anitesb,

Thank you for posting a great review of your recent family minibreak with us.

We are so glad you had a comfortable and fun stay with us: we really appreciate you pointing out the complimentary access to the modern leisure centre situated next door to the hotel. As you enjoyed, you can certainly swim all day and go to the gym/health & fitness suite to your heart's content!

We have a strong reputation for the quality and offering of our hot breakfast buffet: freshly cooked and bought to your table.

Looking forward to having you join us for your next family break in Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here on a midweek break 30-July to 1st Aug - we have a fabulous stay, and agreed we will be returning again in the hope of staying at the Clew Bay Hotel, we dined there on the first evening and although the restaurant didn't look that fancy we were not let down by the food, it was fantastic, and the staff were so friendly and professional at reception, at the bar and also in the restaurant ,we also met some lovely people who were also staying at the hotel and was a nice way to round of the night with a late drink or two and a friendly chat, this hotel if right in the middle of Westport and thats what we wanted, we had complementary access to the fitness/leisure/swimming pool centre that is directly behind the hotel and had a swim on the second day it was great - we dined out on the second evening and this was a Thursday and it was difficult to get a booking on one of the recommended restaurants so you should recommendation at reception and book early as they are in demand, the finally got to east in a recommended Italian, it was fancy, lovely and supporisingly god value for money , I could't recommend the Clew Bay Hotel enough as we had a really lovely stay.

Room Tip: just ask and the people at reception will assisting with your needs if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear DanielD,

Thank you for writing a fantastic review of your recent stay with us here in Westport.
As has previously been pointed out, you commented on the great value and the quality of our dining offering, the leisure centre next door, and our breakfasts!

We thank you for recommending our reception team: we always try to strive to meet all our guest's needs. We like to think that our guests will leave as good friends.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next short-break at the Clew Bay Hotel.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Laois, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here with the family over the August Bank Holiday weekend. Super place with excellent facilities. We never dined here but dined in Westport some restaurants better than others. Have to say though the staff here couldn't do enough for us! The location is central so you are in easy reach of all the amenities that Westport has to offer. We did the Croagh Patrick climb and I would really recommend it , when in Rome and all that.We will hopefully return again, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Carl O,

Thank you for writing a great review of your recent stay with us, and that we were able to do all we could to make your stay with us comfortable and relaxing.

Although it sounds like you & your family had an action-packed minibreak!

We can heartedly recommend our hotel restaurant 'Madden's Bistro' as a great place to dine, with an excellent menu choice at attractive prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay on your next visit to Westport!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.