We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Clew Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Longford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Group of 15 of us stayed for two nights. Fantastic Hotel, very friendly staff, Close to all amenities, breakfast was excellent and very filling. rooms were spacious and comfortable. Highly recommend the Clew Bay Hotel . I personally will be back to stay again. Thank You for everything. Ray Baxter

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Ray,

Thank you for taking the time to write a really nice review of your recent stay with us on your stag weekend.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and had a fun weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    158
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
81
211
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just back from a lovely 2 night stay in the Clew Bay Hotel. It is located quite central in the town and within walking distance of shops, pubs and restaurants. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean with all the basic necessities required. The breakfasts are to die for & really hit the spot in the morning, I loved the fact that the recipie's for the brown bread and granola were available to take at the buffet table.

One small little gripe would be the noise from the rooms upstairs, the hotel is an old building and the floors overhead are extremely creaky but this was only a minor matter, I did sleep well and the beds were super comfy. I would also like to mention Mary @ the reception desk, she was extremely helpful and informative. I will definitely recommend this hotel to any one traveling to Westport and I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sunshine978,

Thank you for your very warm review of your recent stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the delights of Westport. We are one of the most central hotels in town, and all facilities are within an easy five minute walk. I will pass on your kind compliments to Mary on reception.

Sorry that you were disturbed by noise on the floor in the hotel. We do encourage our guests to contact reception should that they have any concerns that they might have. We were glad it did not spoil your stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WICKLOW
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just back from a lovely three night stay in clew Bay Hotel we can not say one wrong thing about this hotel staff lovely food in Maddens next door is excellent the hotel was full but we never heard any noise so quite we slept like logs ,location is great lovely places to eat great little pubs really liked the spinning ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Ashley 009,

Thank you got taking the time to write a fantastic review of your recent stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel.

We are glad you had a quiet and comfortable stay: we've recently invested in new mattress toppers allowing for a great nights sleep to be had.

Our staff team strive to professional yet friendly to all our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again very soon.

Best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I always go on Tripadvisor to get opinions before I book a hotel, so this is now my opinion of the Cew Bay Hotel. From the minute we walked in the door, we were made feel welcome. All the staff were so friendly. I love the location of it as it is right in the heart of everything Westport town has to offer...(for me the shops!!). What impressed me the most was on Saturday (Easter Sat) when the lady came to change towesl etc. there was a handmade chocolate easter bunny for me. I thought it was a fab gesture and it is things like this that bring visitors back to well done to Management on that one! Food in the hotel is also yummy. We will be back for sure and I would recommend anyone to book here! Had a fab weekend and we were sorry to be leaving such a fab town and County.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Melissa P,

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us over the Easter weekend. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay in Westport, and found our hotel to be warm and welcoming. We are especially glad you enjoyed the chocolate bunny!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel again for your next stay.

With best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillimh, Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed only one night in The Clew Bay Hotel, but overall we were very happy with the experience. Location is excellent. Reception were very friendly and patient, as there was a problem with one if our bank cards! The adjoining bar was very nice, with window seats and there's a comfortable chill out room beyond reception for reading the paper,checking emails and waiting for people! The restaurant staff went above and beyond at breakfast, as one of us wasnt 'the best' Saturday morning, but the staff were very understanding and looked after us and we were very grateful to them for going the extra mile. Thanks again! We were able to leave our bikes safely in the hotel overnight, which is a bonus in our books. The shower was strong and hot, and the room very comfortable. The only thing was we felt the website could make it clearer it's public parking, but at €3 for the wkd having arrived late Friday that wasn't too bad. The fact it has no leisure centre would also be a drawback but there are so many things to do all around Westport I'm not sure one would get the time to even use it! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Niav R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a very positive review of your recent stay at out hotel. We are all so pleased you had a great time, and we were able to go the extra mile for you during your stay.
One of the special features of our hotel is that we can offer secure bicycle storage, and being a smaller property we can offer a high level of personal service too.

I would like to point out that all guests have complimentary access to the Westport Leisure Park situated next door to the hotel. This is modern facility offering a 25 metre heated swimming pool, gym, sauna, jacuzzi, and a full range of health treatments too.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at the Clew Bay Hotel & to enjoy the many delights of Westport again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The Clew Bay with a group of friends over the Easter weekend. On arriving to leaving the staff on reception were excellent. The staff overall were very friendly an welcoming. We would highly recommended The Clew Bay for a stay. It's location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Angela L,

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad you had an enjoyable Easter break in our hotel.

We are one of the most centrally located hotels in Westport, being within a very easy five minute walk of all shops, attractions, and services.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Clew bay is an ok hotel.location is central but hotel need a spruce up.rooms tired and furnishings dated.
Shower has one of those dispensers which should dispense gel/ shampoo but no.....just one dispenser with shampoo. .fine if you had just wanted to wash your hait..and tha shampoo essence. .tea .....yes tea...repulsive stale tea bag aroma for the night....ps if you want shower gel the closest you will get is hand lotion dispenser miles away on opposite wall of toilet.
The bed was comfortable and no noise so a good sleep was had.
Next morning upon leaving and dropping in key I wished the auburn haired girl at reception a good day. ..at best the response could be described as a grunt....no "see you again", "thank you" ...head down..just didnt seem to care.
Most certainly wont stay there again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear 1Elveria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

However we were sorry to read that you had a disappointing stay with us. We always encourage guests to contact hotel reception during their stay, should their be any issues concerning room accommodation. All our rooms are thoroughly and efficiently serviced and prepared ready for guests arrival.

Do contact the hotel directly if you would like to follow-up on your review.

We do hope you will choose to try our hotel again in the near future.

With very kind regards,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.