We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 weeks in IR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clew Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer 2BB & 1 dinner
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Westport
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 weeks in IR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our best stop in three weeks of touring. Good hotel, good staff, good location two good restaurants.....Pantry & Corkscrew & The Mango.....

Only issue was parking....... Had to get up every am to pay the pig.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear John H,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here in Westport at the Clew Bay Hotel. We are glad you had a great time on holiday with us!

Regarding the car parking, all our guests have use of a public car park situated outside the hotel. This is a Pay & Display car park from Monday through to Saturday (free in the evenings, and Sunday/Bank Holidays). We can sell all guests a 24hrs parking permit for 3 Euros which will cover the cost of car parking. These can also be purchased ahead of time from hotel reception, saving guests having to use loose change to feed the ticket machines out in the car park.

We look forward to having you join us again!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    130
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
68
180
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights from the 21st to the 23rd this month (September) and was sadly disappointed with our experience. Hotel seemed fine on initial check-in, with a good location and the room while not particularly spacious was adequate. The lighting in the room (and bathroom) was however very poor and made it difficult to get ready.

Also when people were in the room next door we could hear absolutely everything, from toilets flushing to their full conversations. Any time spent in our room was spent whispering as they would likely be able to hear us also. At breakfast the next morning there were several other people complaining about noise to each other so clearly this was not an isolated issue.

We decided to mention this issue upon checkout and simply received a disingenuous apology from the staff member. The staff member could easily have made more of an effort with this issue especially considering the price we paid for just two nights. Any other interactions with staff were fine and they seemed friendly.

We would not stay in the clew bay hotel again as simply for the price paid it was not worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with thicker walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Danielle W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Clew Bay Hotel.

We are sorry that your stay was affected by the noise from your neighbours and that the lighting in your room was dim. We always encourage our guests to inform reception of any queries or problems that they might have. We always try our level best to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible.

You are very welcome to contact the hotel further should you wish to follow up on your comments.

We do hope that you will decide to come back and stay with us again in the future.

With very kind regards,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The people at the desk were so helpful and sweet when we came into inquire about a room. the room was large and pretty- the bathroom is older, but quality. The next morning the gratis breakfast was excellent. My husband left our Ipad in the lobby when we left- and we didn't discover it until we were almost to the Shannon Airport late that same day; we called and they had the Ipad, and were willing to do anything to help get it to us- my husband's cousin got it to us before we left Ireland (but that is an unbelievable story for another forum!) This hotel is a great place to stay but the service and hospitality cannot be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Helen Duncan,

Thank you for your very warm review of your recent stay with us at the Clew Bay Hotel. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us.

I had the pleasure of speaking with your husband when he called the hotel back to arrange collection of his ipad. I was personally pleased that we found it for him and were able to return it.

We are glad you had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you join us again the next time you plan to visit Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Location allowed us to walk around the picturesque town and choose from a variety of restaurants. The public parking mentioned is Pay & Display. There are spaces on the street just beside the hotel and across the street both so space didn't seem to be a problem. The "discount" is that they don't charge for parking after 7 pm. The room was attractively decorated with up-to-date bath fixtures. Lighting in both the room and bathroom was extremely poor. Mirror was recessed with no lights above it. Strong WiFi signal in the room. Breakfast was in the restaurant and staff encouraged us to sit by the window so we could enjoy the view of hype garden and stream. Buffet with fruit and pastries. Several options on the hot menu. Loved the french toast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jean S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very thorough review of your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - especially our glorious breakfasts! - and that you had a comfortable room. All our rooms are individually styled and decorated. We have noted your comments about the lighting in your bathroom.

We provide parking permits for all guests in the public car park adjacent to the hotel at a price of €3 per day.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to stay at the Clew Bay Hotel again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I spent a week at the Clew Bay Hotel and I had the most wonderful experience. The Service was outstanding, from the time I checked in, breakfast in the morning, dinner in the restaurant, cocktails at the bar. Friendly folks and help with all of our questions. We had a Family Room and it was clean and light. Our room was by the street and while we where there they had a concert going with lots of traffic. My window was open and the noise level was great, never loud. When I go back to Westport you can be sure I will stay at the Clew Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a bad room. From what I heard from others at the Hotel, they loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nancy M,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review of your stay at our hotel.

As you discovered all our rooms are finished to a very high standard and are individually styled.

We are glad you had a comfortable stay, and that you enjoyed the music of the nearby concert!

You and your friends are very welcome to stay with us again the next time you are in wonderful Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Friendly centrally located in lovely town. Lively bar frequented by locals as well as guests which adds to the atmosphere. Good menu choice in the attached Bistro reasonably priced. We loved the small outside dining area which is a "sun trap" all afternoon (in September anyway).
Hotel should develop the rear patio which overlooks the river and park.

Room Tip: As its an on street hotel, a quieter room would be to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear PatQ1313,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful view of our hotel. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

The installation of new sun awnings above our outdoor patio area has really served to improve the ambience of our outdoor eating area adjacent to the bistro. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining, and thank you for your further suggestions too.

We look forward very much to having you stay with us again in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for one night only while travelling around, and found this to be excellent value for money, in a buzzing pretty town, actually a proper working town with lots to interest visitors. The hotel room was immaculate, with efficient shower, and all facilities. Would definitely stay again, pleasant friendly staff, huge breakfast, car park at the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Justin W,

Thank you for your kind review and your words of appreciation to us of your recent stay here at the Clew Bay Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#8 Family Hotel in Westport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.