We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Clew Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 9th March 2013, It was very disappointing and in no way resembled its pictures on the website. The room was tiny and freezing the hallway was filled with a terrible odour. Only thing this hotel had in its favour was that the staff were really friendly.

Room Tip: try another hotel there are loads of them in Westport. Especially the Wyat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive comments about our staff, however we were very disappointed that you were unable to express your dissatisfaction during your stay. I recall meeting you during your stay and you did not make me aware of any issues.
We would have made every effort to move your room. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly, so if you can contact me here at the hotel.
Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    158
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
81
211
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My stay in the Clew Bay Hotel was a great disappointment especially after viewing how lovely it looked on their site. The room was tiny, cold and the television was a portable one with you could not view. The worst part was the smell in the corridor. The only upside were the friendly staff. Will not be staying again/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Owner at Clew Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the positive comments about our staff, however we were very disappointed that you were unable to express your dissatisfaction during your stay. I have made several attempts to contact you by phone. I recall meeting you during your stay and you did not make me aware of any issues.
We would have made every effort to move your room. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you directly, so if you can contact me here at the hotel.

Kind regards
Darren Madden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Good value with friendly staff in excellent location. All we asked for was delivered in a friendly and efficient manner. When we sought advice, it was what was required and often more.The rooms were well equiped and very clean.All the public areas were well signed. The food we ate was all of a good standard and excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in the Clewbay Hotel in Westport last weekend and had a lovely time. The staff were very good, most obliging and friendly. Rooms were clean and bright. Breakfast was very good but the dinner on Saturday evening was second to none. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the general area of Westport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed 2nights in Clew Bay & at 50euro a night you couldnt ask for anymore,the room was a grand size,clean,warm & comfie beds,the staff were great & were always on hand if you needed anything,they dont have a car park but theres a public car park right next door & the hotel will give you a premit,2 nights parking was 6euro which was great,for your 50euro you get breakfast which was lovely the menu had every thing you could want,the food at the bar was well priced & was lovely as was the beer,the night life was walking distance from the hotel so there was no need to be getting taxis,there was a leisure centre available to us but we didnt use it,next time im heading to Westport this hotel will be the 1st place ill try & book,thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, staff were excellent, so helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and warm with all the amenities. Food was lovely and again service was excellent, would highly recommend and will stay again soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.