We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clew Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clew Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Clew Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for 1 night in May 2011. Hotel was average for the price paid. Our room was clean but attention to detail with quality of fixtures and fittings was poor. Breakfast and breakfast eating area was below average. Maybe we hit them on a bad day?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    158
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
81
211
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here for an adventure race weekend, we just made dinner on the first night and were very happy with the food, so happy in fact we ate there on the saturday night aswell!! 14 oz steak cooked to perfection. Use of the leisure centre , friendly staff and a great location all added up to a top quality weekend. Will be going back as soon as I can!!!!!!

Room Tip: just ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend recently. We've been to Westport numerous times over the years but decided to stay here for the first time. My wife had stayed here on a girls weekend not too long ago and couldn't speak highly enough of it. I was a bit dubious having read some of the previous reviews but, as with most reviews, they are every person's own point of view. The majority of reviews here rate the hotel very highly and I have to agree. Hard to say enough about it really. Nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly, attentive staff. Great breakfast in the mornings and, again, staff that are more than attentive to your needs. Can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely stay here again.

I'm very fussy about hotels and particularly the staff, the welcome, and general friendliness. Don't be put off by the bad reviews.

Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: Centrally located. Convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Four of us booked a package deal - €125 for 2 nights B&B with dinner...and transfers to and from Croagh Patrick with packed lunches!! I would highly recommend this package because its extremely good value for money. The staff and owner couldnt have done more for us. It was a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and we had a great room in the corner of the hotel which was bright and spacious. Westport is a great town....so tidy and we loved the shops...and the food. We are planning our next trip already!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

It is amazing this is ony a 3 star hotel-it merits better. We saw an offer in the Irish Times for a 2 day stay plus free cycle hire in Westport and decided to give it a go, not having done anything like that before. The hotel was excellent, clean, comfortable with spacious modernised rooms. Though there was a "hen party" at the hotel we were never disturbed. The restaurant was first class and the pleasant touch of a free coffee/tea in the bar on arrival was very welcome. The breakfast was all you could want and the hotel gave us a packed lunch for the bicycle hire. We did the new Western Greenway track from Newport to Mulranny-38km in total and highly recommended. All in all we really enjoyed our visit, it was excellent value and we will certainly return to this hotel.
Jim and Geraldine McAdam

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

I had read from a previous Trip Advisor report that the bedrooms were dark and would fully agree as had to ask for extra lighting to be able to read the computer keyboard. The room layout was strange as the desk was not located near plugs of the internet connection plug and had to drape around the TV.
The brochure indicates its near a babbling brook but most of the rooms overlook the public car park or the main road .
We were happy to leave

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Clew Bay Hotel on a 55+three day break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were wonderful, the breakfast selection was great and the evening meals were very good quality and nicely presented. The owner Darren Madden made a point of introducing himself and was most welcoming,The location of the hotel is ideal for those who like to walk around Westport and the rooms were spotless. We are looking forward to a return next year

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clew Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clew Bay Hotel

Address: James Street, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Westport
#2 Business Hotel in Westport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#10 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clew Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clew Bay Hotel is a family owned and managed hotel which combines a genuine welcome with a town centre location. The hotel specialises in a variety of leisure & activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is an ideal base for staying in the historic town of Westport, where everything is on your doorstep (shopping, pubs, restaurants, activities and much more) . Why not explore Achill Island, Connemara and surrounding areas or just laze on one of the golden beaches of County Mayo. The hotel specialises in cycling, walking, golf, sailing, fishing, surfing and kayaking and a variety of activity packages. The Clew Bay Hotel is a stylish 54 bedroom hotel, offering a contemporary style with a warm welcome and great food. All our guests have complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park, located next door. Guests can enjoy Local Attractions such as climbing our pilgrim mountain Croagh Patrick, Westport House & Pirate Adventure Park for all the family, the Great Western Greenway (42km of an off road cycling path), Clew Bay and all its islands, National Museum of Country Life, Walking Trails, Kylemore Abbey, Foxford Woollen Mills and Adventure Centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clew Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clew Bay Westport
Hotel Clew Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clew Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.