We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall but some upgrading required to rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knockranny House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knockranny House Hotel to your Saves list
Knockranny House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knockranny, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good overall but some upgrading required to rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent a weekend here with my husband in November, overall a very positive stay. We booked a deal with Tower Suite room, Spa Treatments & 1 Dinner in La Fougere Restaurant.

Our Tower Suite room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with excellent views of Croagh Patrick & Clew Bay and there was a lovely four poster bed. The other furniture and some of the décor in the room requires some upgrading or restoration, cup stains and scratches on the furniture, faded/water stained wall paper in the tower part of the room, the bathroom could also do with some upgrading, particularly the shower head and a little more attention to the vacuming and dusting overall.

The Spa treatments were excellent the and SPA staff friendly and welcoming, particularly Mary M. and Valerie. The vitatity pool area is lovely, though it's a pity the wet floor signs are permanently on display. The steam rooms could do with some upgrading with missing tiles and ugly white boxes.

La Fougere restaurant, the food was excellent and the staff attentive.

The bar food (Brehon Bar) which we had the second day was average. The staff are friendly in the bar but seem to be constantly run off their feet so service can be a little slow.
However, the cocktails in the bar are first class, really tasty and nice to see such a good choice.

Reception staff also polite and friendly.

Style of the hotel is country old-world cosy, lots of dark wood and carpet. Overall, a very positive stay, altough some upgrading required.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    157
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
114
389
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

luxury, luxury,luxury. Everything was perfect from the moment we entered the grounds until we left. I attended a wedding here and I will be back to enjoy a 2 night break. The room my friend stayed in was supberb, the food and service delightful. Thank you management and staf.f

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here in October and it was great! The room, the restaurant, setting, view, spa. Everything about it was perfect, I can't think of one place where they fell short. We both agree that it was the best hotel experience we've ever had. Our suite included breakfast and (2) meals, which seemed to be a very good deal. Would recommend Knockranny to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get view of Croagh Patrick
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had our ceremony and reception here and all I can say is wow . The food is to die for . The staff could not do enough for us and went out of their way to make this a very special couple of days for us . We and our guests went away with lots of fun happy and very special memories . A very special thank you to Clare for all her help and kindness from our first meeting to book the wedding . To Adrian and Geraldine your staff and hotel are amazing . And we will be back very soon ( minus the inflatable guitars ) .i cannot praise knockranny enough for all they did for us and again many thanks for such special memories .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a graduate of hospitality and somebody who works in a five star hotel I am usually very observant of everything a hotel has to offer.This property is in an excellent location and has a beautiful building to offer its guests. However the level of personal service is excellent. The reception, restaurant and porters even are all genuinely interested in making your experience of the hotel special.The rooms are kept very well and presented excellently with the smallest touches making a better impression. I could not recommend this hotel enough. If they keep this standard they will achieve a deserved five stars. On my visit I used every facility to get a good feel of the entire operation and without fault this place exceeded my expectations. Well done on providing irish hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: I stayed in the presidential suite and I would recommend spending that extra bit for a suite or delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Firstly my wife is from Westport and we decide to have our wedding in Knockranny (May 2012) after her mum and brother went to a wedding there and were very impressed. The staff in Knockranny were extremely helpful and efficient in the run up to the wedding. The day went without a hitch and we were really made to feel special. The food was also a highlight for the guests and wedding party alike, everyone is still talking about how good it was 1 year on! We recently returned to the hotel for a friends wedding and stayed again and it was just as good as we remembered. The grand deluxe rooms are specious, clean, well equipped and decorated. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was treated to a lovely surprise weekend in Knockranny House Hotel for my " special " birthday, all I can say is WOW what a fabulous Hotel, The staff were so friendly and welcoming as was the gorgeous roaring fire, just lovely on a cold January day, The room was fabulous, beautiful four poster wooden bed a fantastic bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, clean, fresh and comfy and very very spacious, The dining was second to none with very attentive staff, the food was absolutely delicious, We both tried the spa which was worth every penny and a lovely relaxing swim afterwards.The breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much bother and everything was very tasty, hot and freshly cooked,
We ordered a room service breakfast on the second morning which was beautiful and nice and hot.
The Hotel is situated very close to Westport Town, which is nice to be able to take stroll after dinner or even if you have been sampling some of the nice friendly Pubs and Bars in Westport its just a dander up to the Hotel without the worry of Taxi's etc
An excellent Hotel, we hope to stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockranny House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.