We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knockranny House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knockranny House Hotel to your Saves list
Knockranny House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knockranny, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an overnight stay on a gorgeous sunny weekend in June. Our room (grand deluxe) was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel isn't as modern as I personally like but might suit older person's taste...swimming pool is lovely, although some of the aromatherapy steam rooms weren't working. We had breakfast in the dining room which has gorgeous views of Croagh Patrick. Buffet was lovely and the freshly cooked breakfast was gorgeous. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the fact that we could walk into town in ten minutes. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    157
    81
    27
    17
See reviews for
114
388
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a Courtyard Suite which was huge & very comfortable.
The restaurant is excellent & the staff are wonderful, nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay here again & am very hard to please as I work in the industry!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My favourite hotel in Ireland, which might explain the frequency of our return trips and the reason we are having our wedding reception here next year. From the minute you pull up the driveway a sense of calm takes over. The staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. The food is excellent not to mention the cocktails in the Brehon bar. Every time we go we upgrade to a suite for an extra 10euro per person per night well worth it! the rooms are large and immaculately clean.
Planning our next trip back already.

Room Tip: upgrade to the suites for that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed here while attending a friends wedding and had great expectations about this hotel. while we couldn't fault anything to do with service, food, drinks etc we were disappointed with the hotel room itself.

while the room was a good size, some of the furniture could do with updating and was scratched and worn. the en suite was disappointing with only a shower and no bath. not exactly what you would expect from a hotel with such a reputation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms are spacious but sparse. The Irish breakfast was terrible so we didn't risk the evening meal. Luckily there is plenty of choice in Westport. The Spa is well fitted and well maintained.
The view of Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick is excellent and it's only 15 mins walk from the Mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Got a voucher as a wedding present so we booked ourselves into a deluxe suite.This was our second trip here but first time in a suite. Extremely spacious and very comfortable. Staff were exceptional in all areas. Food in the bar, restaurant and breakfast area was delicious and presented exceptionally well. My favourite being the porridge and honey. Would highly recommend this hotel for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here recently as I was attending a conference. Room was spotless, spacious and the bed exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff extremely professional, polite and attentive. Spa was lovely. Top marks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knockranny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockranny House Hotel

Address: Knockranny, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Westport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#3 Business Hotel in Westport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#4 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockranny House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Knockranny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockranny Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knockranny House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.