We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless & perfect for a family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harbour Mill to your Saves list
Harbour Mill
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Westport Quay, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Co. Wicklow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spotless & perfect for a family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from a 4 night stay at The Harbour Mill. They're nice, not luxurious apartments but they have everything that a family would need and above all they are totally spotless, the cleanest place I've ever stayed. It's hassle free from the underground parking to the drying room and all the amenities close by. We really enjoyed our stay, there were no problems with any noise, (we did stay Mon - Friday) the furniture all had padding under the legs so the chairs etc made no noise when they were moved. The staff were lovely, friendly, knowledgeable but not in your face. The only improvement I'd suggest would be new TVs and Sky, the sound on our TV wasn't great but it was fine. I could not fault the place and the harbour area has lovely restaurants so it was all v handy. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    82
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
149
70
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Harbour Mill,in a Harbour view apartment.
The place is nice,but has many many problems.
The best problem is that you can't have a nice rest,it's impossible,because the bedrooms,are close to the main entrance,so you can hear clearly everythings happens on the corridor,or outside the other rooms,the window of the bedroom,was on the corridor,it was impossible,child who runs and plays,peoples that talks at 4 a.m.,the lift(close to the our room )that works every hour,bagages in and out ecc.
Also,the bedroom,was always dark,because the curtain must to be closed all day, if not all the people that passed could look inside,no privacy
An othetr thing that i found very strange is that you can use a pc with the printer,close to the lobby,only if you pay. The price to use it it was €7,50 every hour!!!!,and if you had to print a document, € 0,50 each page,unreal!!
If you are planning to come,ask for a room,far from the lift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like everything in Ireland when the weather is good, everything is better. We stayed for two nights on the August bank holiday. Parking was tight but lift to apartment with three kids was great. The apartments are not amazing luxurious but very clean and not to good that your nervous of three kids jumping about in it. I read the reviews before leaving and bought door stoppers in the euro shop before leaving, worked great for the slamming doors,there fire doors to prevent fire smoke spreading so they automatically close so I wouldn't give out to much about them. The floor boards were annoying particularly when baby trying to sleep and us tiptoeing to the toliet.The vouchers from reception were great, two days for the price of one in wesport house . Great time there. We eat in the helm walking distance again lovely that it was so close. The play room beside reception area great, you don't feel guilty about having a well deserved glass of wine while kids play. So all in all we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Westport (and that you got some sunshine while you were here).
I am very happy to hear you availed of the special offers during your stay. We recognize that current conditions have been challenging for many and are confident that these discounted deals offer the best value for money to our guests. In the same way, we encourage you to use the Voucher Booklet that we give to all guests on departure, to ensure you receive maximum value on your return visit to The Harbour Mill.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from a short stay in Westport.

What an amazing town - a definite must see.

Our apartment on the top floor was very spacious with panoramic views of the harbour and far beyond.

The view isn't that great from the lounge as the roof structure is in the way.

Staff were all very helpful.

Lots of restaurants in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent a few fabulous days in Westport. We stayed 5 nights in the Harbour Mill. Excellent stay and the staff were more than helpful. As a party of 2 adults, 2 teens and an 11 year old we had plenty room in our apartment. Highly recommend using Harbour Mill as a base to explore Westport area. Some great restaurants within walking distance, the best one being the Helm which serves wonderful food. Would definetly choose Harbour Mill if we return to Westport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, they are always a pleasure to read! Thank you for choosing The Harbour Mill for your break away in Westport. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Mill Apts in late July, and it was perfect for our family with two young children. From the time we arrived, and throughout our stay, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. For example, we were even given access to our apt when we arrived a good bit earlier than the 4pm check-in time. The apartment itself was very roomy - 2 floors with bedrooms downstairs and living room/kitchen upstairs. I liked the fact that there was a small carton of milk and teabags/coffee sachet in the fridge when we arrived, very much appreciated. And when we realised the kettle wasn't working, we immediately received a brand new one (in box) from reception.

We made good use of the kiddie corner each evening after dinner, which our kids loved and had a nice selection of well looked after toys. We also availed of the pass to the local leisure centre for a swim one of the days, and used the Harbour Mill's discount card for the local pub The Asgard for dinner.

Lastly when we left, the reception staff had a little "pirate" gift bag for the kids, with a small colouring book, crayons and a lollypop. I thought this was a nice touch, and shows how they really go out of their way to cater for the guests with young families.

The only downside was that we had no phone reception with O2 anywhere inside the building, so had to walk outside to make calls. Wifi was available but not very strong signal.

But we will definitely be back - Great location and beautiful views over the Harbour, plenty of parking, and close to Westport House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for such lovely comments. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our facilities and our staff so it is always a pleasure to hear such positive feedback from our guests and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Harbour Mill in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We found the staff very proactive in making sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The flat was cosy enough, but definetly not luxurious. Not quite sure why there is no lift at the entrance, steep stairs at the entrance to get to reception. Overall though, the location and staff compensated for minor niggles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and your kind words for our staff, I will be sure to pass them on. Just to note our car park is on street level beside the entrance where you can access the elevator up to all floors. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Address: Westport Quay, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#3 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Mill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's Waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the West of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012'. With a 24-hour Reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, Babysitting service, Free secure car parking, on-site Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This years winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by Trip Advisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.