We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harbour Mill to your Saves list
Harbour Mill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westport Quay, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4 Night Midweek for €219
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Westport
N.I./France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A generous sized apartment you could quite happily live in - well for a couple of weeks anyway. We liked the out of town location with a choice of 3 routes to walk into town; old railway walk, through Westport House grounds or along the 'main' road, which meant you could enjoy a meal or drink in the many, many bars and restaurants in the town centre and burn the calories off with the return trip. The apartment itself showed a few wee signs of wear but they were very, very minor, was very clean and had very comfy beds. The only negative for light sleepers would be if you have a courtyard facing bedroom the outside lights kept on all night are as bright as daylight through the lightweight curtains, I wish they would save on electricity and switch the lights off earlier than I think it was about 7a.m? A delightful spot, pleasant staff and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest.
I am delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay in The Harbour Mill and in Westport. I appreciate your comments regarding the outside lights. Lighting in the complex is as specified by the building regulations at the time the complex was built. The lighting is set on dawn to dusk timers to ensure there is adequate lighting in all the public areas, as required under Health & Safety legislation. In order to minimize sleep disruption to our guests we have black out lining on the bedroom curtains. I do apologies for any discomfort caused during your stay. I am glad that is has not put you off staying with us again and that you are recommending us to family and friends.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    86
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
159
74
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed in Harbour Mill apartments with my family. Two children aged 6 and 4 found apartments really spacious and very well equipped. Really nice touches which made all the difference like milk and tea bags when we arrived enhanced our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt comfortable and secure for the duration of our 4 day stay. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have spend many happy weeks at the Harbour Mill over the past 14 years. It is one of the most relaxing places to holiday, because you have the freedom to do everything at your own pace. Staff are welcoming and helpful and the Harbour Mill itself is an excellent base and very much a home from home. We have enjoyed all our holidays here and hope to have many more in years to come.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the Harbour Mill is wonderful. We enjoyed mny beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, I will be sure to pass them on. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurles ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a lovely relaxing week in the Harbour Mill recently.We love the west of Ireland and holiday there as often as possible. we have stayed in the Westport Mulranny area as well as Achill . This has been our first time staying in the Harbour Mill. We were pleasently surprised at the quality and size of the appartment. The staff were most helpful and friendly, the wiews from the windows was stunning. All in all a very satisfactory experience, We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments. We are pleased to hear about your stay with us and very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Westport. We are very proud of our staff, and our apartments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the harbout mill with our 3 year old and 9 week old and we will be returning as soon as possible.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and it was great knowing there was always someone on hand should you need it.
We had an apartment with bunk beds and on check in they even asked if I was ok with that from a safety point of view.
The play room is the best one I've seen so far, everything is clean and non if the toys are broken, there's plenty for all young children and was a lovely way to get to know other holidaying families.
The location and setting is beautiful, while its out if the town a little it has shops and restaurants nearby, a small playground across the road and a greenway walk closely which we used for cycling. Westport house entrance is only a few hundreds netted away.
All in all I couldn't recommend harbout mills and Westport and its environs highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review of The Harbour Mill Apartments Westport. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The kiddies corner is always a big hit with families and I am really glad your little ones enjoyed it, It’s what makes us love our job! Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and I will be sure to pass them on.
We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Harbour Mill in the near future.
Kind Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Enjoyed the luxury self-catering complex but there was one thing disappointed me, I asked if there was a room to cater for my friend who's in a wheel chair,if we returned!! Unfortunately the answer was No from the receptionist, other than that everything else was perfect

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Harbour Mill. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
The apartments were built in 1997 and the requirements than for wheelchair use was very different, we do have a number of apartments that would be more wheelchair friendly with lower light switches, wider doors and hand rails in the bathroom. Unfortunately these apartments would be a Courtyard view and are not available in a Harbour view, if you would like more information please do not hesitate to contact me at aisling@theharbourmill.com.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back home after another great break in Westport, made more enjoyable by the quality of the experience offered by the Harbour Mill. We have regularly stayed at the Mill since it opened (now well into the 2nd decade), and have never been disappointed with the package provided. The accomodation, as advertised, offers everything you need and is of a high standard for self catering apartments. In addition, the friendly welcome and ongoing efficiency of the (24 hour) staff give a sense of reassurance that most hotels don't match. Staff turnover seems low, and it's good to see familiar faces to greet you. We have had no hesitation in recommending the Mill to friends over the years, with confidence that they will enjoy the stay and value for money -so far no complaints back!
It is true that the car park spaces are restricted in some areas, but there is plenty of space adjacent to the building. Some reviewers have also commented about late night noise- the layout of the structure can cause sound to 'bounce', but any such issues or unacceptable behaviour by residents are quickly and firmly dealt with by the night staff.
This is a lovely area, with no shortage of restaurants & entertainment nearby, and we are looking forward to our next visit to Westport- which will be at the Harbour Mill.

Billy & Joy,
Co. Down

Room Tip: If affordable, the harbour view apartments on the higher floors give a pleasant outlook over the sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarbourMill, Sales & Marketing Dept. at Harbour Mill, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest.
We were delighted to read of your experience at The Harbour Mill apartments and so grateful that you took the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay and are recommending us to friends & family. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Aisling Meenaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Mill

Address: Westport Quay, Westport, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Westport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#3 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Mill - the unique hotel alternative on Westport's Waterfront. Set within a beautifully reconstructed 18th century cut stone mill, our four-star rated luxury apartments provide the perfect holiday retreat. Overlooking Westport Harbour and nestling in the shadow of the majestic Croagh Patrick, this is the ideal base from which to explore the West of Ireland's breathtaking coastline. The Harbour Mill is just short stroll from the charming heritage town of Westport, voted 'The Best Place To Live In Ireland 2012'. With a 24-hour Reception, Captain's Lounge Wine Bar, Kiddies Corner, Babysitting service, Free secure car parking, on-site Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and complimentary access to Westport Leisure Park (located in Westport Town). This years winner of the 'No.1 Travellers' Choice 2012 for Families' awarded by Trip Advisor, we guarantee a holiday to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Mill Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.