We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant - CLOSED

The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant
The Quay, Westport, Ireland
+353 (0)98 25 319
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montréal
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Service is average, food is average. Some family members were ok, others disappointed. Fish was ok, vegetables a joke. Zero atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only ate here because our first preference (The Towers) was full and there was a 30 min wait on a table..Service is non existent,the waitresses prefer to spend their time at the end of the bar checking their phones with their backs to the customers...The food takes forever to arrive which is not down to preparation time as the portions were small...In hindsight,it would have been better to have waited half an hour in the previous bar than to suffer this...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Dirty toilets”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Family holiday to Westport we stop in to get feed, the gents toilets were of a very poor standard and if the kitchen was anything like it we would all be in trouble. No soap in any of the three dispensers and as a result I headed to he ladies. I got my hands washed even though two dispensers there were empty.
We asked for the children's sausage and chip to come first yet all food come together.
Main courses were ok just.
Pint of guniness not good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Got a great feed here on a busy Saturday evening. Staff were very busy but service was still very good. Food was plentiful and tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a recent trip to Westport. The food was superb and the staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Next time we are in Westport we will definitely return. Brilliant value as well

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Asgard Tavern And Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.