We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Westport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Guest House

Elephant Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elephant Guest House to your Saves list
Elephant Guest House
Mill Street, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Westport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Really convenient location right in the heart of Westport. Really nice new furnishings and very comfortable bed! The room is very cozy but we didn't need heaps of space anyway. The breakfasts were amazing and fresh cooked to order with the best bacon and sausages I've tasted anywhere in the world! Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Congratulations to Bernie & Des on a great B&B!.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds and linens are fantastic!
Breakfast is great and Bernie & Des could not do enough for us.
Would highly recommend The Elephant Guest House!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived late into Westport after a long drive from Portadown in heavy rain. Stopping at a gas station we learned about the lovely renovated B & B recently opened. The Proprietor Paul agreed to wait for us as he was just about to leave. We were able to park right out in front of the B & B and Paul was waiting at the door to greet us and show us to our very comfortable albeit small room with free WiFi. However that day the WiFi was down. In the morning Paul cooked us a delicious breakfast and afterwards his wife gave us good information on what to see before heading on our way. It is well located in the heart of town with lots of good places to get a relaxing dinner. I would definitely recommend this totally modern B & B. Yes, there are hundreds of Elephant to look at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I would definitely recommend this B & B. Clean and comfortable, best breakfast with excellent selection during short stay in Mayo and Galway. Good location some pubs with traditional live music around the corner, parking to the rear.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed a couple of days, the breakfast with Paul is excellent! -Great- Irish Breakfast to start the day! Rooms and everything was amazing :) Paul If i come back i need to bring back an elephant for your collection :)

Totally recommended, perfect location!

Room Tip: Room 6 its cool, nice view to the street, not noisy at nights :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Elephant house is a great B&B to stay in if your heading for Westport. Right in the middle of the town and directly opposite the Mill Times hotel which does fantastic bar food (go here for dinner I highly recommend it ).
Stayed here for a night with our 4 month old, found the couple that run it very pleasant and really hospitable(even going so far as to open the back fire escape to make it easier for us to carry our baby stuff in etc. Breakfast was lovely.

All in all a great little B&B and you can't beat it for location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Elephant for 4 nights and loved it. It was quiet, there were king-size beds (a rarity in B&Bs) and, with the owner being the butcher in the shop next door, the breakfast was the best we had in our 2 weeks in Ireland. The place is only a few steps from all that Wesport has to offer, and came with free WiFi and parking. Our host, Dez, was quick to offer advice on nearby walks, local restaurants, and the fabulous national museum of country life in Castlebar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Guest House

Address: Mill Street, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elephant Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.