We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temptations Restaurant

Temptations Restaurant
Mill Street, Westport, Ireland
+353 98 29200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The food at Temptations really is very good, showing imagination and skill. The quality of the meal was enhanced by friendly and efficient service, and our party enjoyed their dining experience very much.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Chris737320 for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations, especially for our staff who are always on hand to help our guests in any way they can.
We hope you will consider Temptations Restaurant again on your next visit to Westport,
Warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    28
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dead slow and stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I found the food just about average, the time waiting between each course was really unforgivable

How this restaurant got to be no.1 in westport is beyond me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear silverdoctor,
Thank you for submitting your review of Temptations Restaurant.
I am disappointed to read that your meal was not to your satisfaction and I am sorry your dining experience did not live up to your expectations. We continually strive to provide excellent food and service and I would like to assure you that your comments have been brought to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to Temptations Restaurant in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for assistance with your next booking.

Warm Regards from Westport
Colette Moran,
Front of House Manager, Mill Times Hotel Westport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice food, elaborated and cooked well. Ambiance is relaxing especially around the chimney. The waitress was not well experienced, but her colleague was professional. Bad point is the selection of wine which is poor and not at the level of the meals served.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you Olivier L for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We are very sorry that the wine selection was not to your liking and I assure you that I have brought your comments to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager.
I sincerely hope you will consider Temptations Restaurant again on your next visit to Westport, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you need any assistance on your next booking.
Warm regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager, Mill Times Hotel Westport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb Staff and Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The quality of both the staff and food were equally impressive.

All throughout our meal we were greeted by two very pleasant waiters who told us about the food we were about to eat and even engaged in some pleasant conversation with us. Definitely the best standard of service staff from bar to restaurant I have probably experienced.

The menu was set at 29.95 per person and it wasnt an early bird either. There was plenty to choose from considering the set price and considering most menus in Westport. The amus boosh (is that how its spelled?) was an unexpected surprise and very tasty. In between our starter and main we also were served a sorbet that was another surprising extra.

Both the presentation and quality of the courses were excellent. Hands down the best quality food and service in Westport.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Chris P for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations, especially for our staff who are always on hand to help our guests in any way they can..
We hope you will consider Temptations Restaurant again on your next visit to Westport,
Warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Beautiful food & so welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Myself and a large group of ladies attended the restaurant while on a hen party. The staff were fantastic and made the night so special for the hen....they printed personalised menu's with a picture of the hen, presented her with a massive cocktail and gave the group a free shot each. After the meal was over we asked if there was any chance of getting a table for us all in the bar (it was a Bank holiday weekend so busy) and after 5 minutes one of the staff came back to let us know a table was there waiting for us!
Highly recommended....staff couldn't have done more for us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you BrenG82 for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant on your recent trip to Westport for your Hen Party. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations, especially for our Staff who are always on hand to help our guests in any way they can.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Temptations Restaurant again on your next visit to Westport,
Warm regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptations Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Temptations Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temptations Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.