We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Temptations Restaurant

Temptations Restaurant
Mill Street, Westport, Ireland
00353 98 29200
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: European, Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“AVOID AVOID AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having read reviews on trip advisor my expectations for this Restaurant where high, however I was sadly disappointed. The food in general was bland and over seasoned to the point where your mouth burned from salt. Our table of four all opted for the steak despite a €7.50 supplement. Having ordered my steak blue I found it to be medium - well and returned it. The new steak was nicely cooked however I had to scrape a mass of rock salt from its surface. This heavy handed seasoning applied to all the meals at the table.
When we informed staff of our dissatisfaction the chef approached our table in the most rude and contemptuous manner believable and told us that only the blue steak had been seasoned. I can’t believe that a chef of any standing would feel it better to say they did not season food (the most basic principle of the culinary arts) than admit to the possibility in over seasoning.
In short, avoid this establishment at all costs. In my opinion this restaurant cannot justify either its price point or reputation in any way

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, General Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Kevin F,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about your recent visit to Temptations Restaurant. I was obviously extremely disappointed to read the contents of the review and I sincerely apologies that we did not live up to your expectations.
Our Head Chef and her Team are dedicated to ensuring that each diners experience is exceeded and it is disappointing when this does not happen. Our Head Chef regularly approaches guest’s tables for a chat and welcomes feedback as she did when she spoke with your table and explained that your steaks were marinated and salt was not added as there was no need to season steaks twice. I was surprised to learn that you felt that our pricing was expensive, we offer a seven course dinner for €29.95 and we receive great feedback regarding our price point.

I would appreciate if you could contact me directly to discuss your dining experience further at gm@milltimeshotel.ie

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    24
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food was first class and extremely good value. The service was excellent. A really first class experience, we definately recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you Anita N for taking the time to share your experience at Temptations Restaurant.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and thank you for your high recommendations.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,
Warm regards from Westport,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Myself and my (new!) husband had dinner here last Saturday night and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The staff, especially Matthew were so welcoming and we were immediately comfortable. The food was excellent. I had scallops and cod, my husband had paté and red deer. The little tasters between courses were delicious and such a nice touch. Dessert was unique..and again delicious. My husband is a chef and he is sometimes a perfectionist! He could not find fault and praised the simple but imaginative menu and very reasonable bill. Thanks for a lovely evening. We will be back next time we visit Westport..looking forward to it already:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you Niamh H for your taking the time to write a review and for your feedback, we are delighted to read that you had a positive experience in Temptations Restaurant. We would like to pass on our congratulations to you and your new husband for your recent nuptials, and thank you very much for your high recommendations, I will be sure to pass your compliments to Matthew and we hope you will choose to dine with us again on your next visit to Westport!
Kind regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently had a meal in Temptations based on the reviews on here. We arrived on a Monday evening without a reservation and were automatically welcomed by staff that proceeded to take our jackets and show us to our seat. All the staff (and in particular Matthew) were very genuinely chatty, polite, and accommodating while they attended to us, which helped us relax and enjoy our time in the restaurant. Let just say the food didn’t disappoint either, we both opted for the set 4 course menu (€29.95) which actually ended up being 7 courses when all the complimentary courses are included. Each course on its own was special by being cooked to perfection, but when all set and complimentary courses were combined it equated to a most enjoyable meal, leaving us both full while content for a price that wasn’t difficult to justify for the standard of food and service.

We will be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you GMcH-2012 for your taking the time to write a review and for your feedback, we are delighted to read that you had a positive experience in Temptations Restaurant. Thank you very much for your high recommendations, I will be sure to pass your compliments to Matthew and we hope you will choose to dine with us again on your next visit to Westport!
Kind regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“"Absolutely fabulous"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal in Temptations. The food was excellent, and all the little extras in between courses were a lovely surprise, definitely value for money. The staff were brilliant, very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend having a meal in Temptations if visiting Westport, and we will be returning in the near future.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milltimeshotel, Front Office Manager at Temptations Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you kmjfrench for your taking the time to write a review and for your feedback, we are delighted to read that you had a positive experience in Temptations Restaurant. Thank you very much for your high recommendations and we hope you will choose to dine with us again on your next visit to Westport!
Kind regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptations Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Temptations Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temptations Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.