We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - highly recommended. But book early!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Port Mor Restaurant

An Port Mor Restaurant
1 Brewery Place | Pedestrian Access Laneway. Adjacent to Main Thoroughfare, Second Side Street on Left Following One Way System, Westport, Ireland (Formerly An Port Mor)
+353 98 26730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $25 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An Port Mor Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place - highly recommended. But book early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We managed to get a booking at 6pm this evening and it was worth it. The special starters were fab; especially the baked oysters! The main courses were equally excellent - turbot and the
lamb. The lamb was cooked just perfectly - over pink (as I asked!). Had the warm chocolate cake - which is to die for! The service was just as good, particularly the man and the woman with long dark hair. She was particularly helpful and just right on the non intrusion front / taking time to talk.
This is a really busy restaurant and once you eat there you can see why. Many people had to be turned away, whether they walked in or was on the phone. We sat near the counter - not intrusive to us. However, where the staff could they tried to do everything to accommodate requests, checking cancelations, suggesting alternative times or squeezing bookings between others. They even suggested other restaurants in town, adding a comment on cuisine etc. Well done staffies !
Really enjoyed this and highly recommended.
Sadly the atmosphere is not as good as the food - a bit knooks and crannies.
Andy & Denisa - London.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    92
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Main advice is that you must book as this is a very popular place - however, try to sit downstairs as there is an upstairs that's cut off from the main part. Having said that, the food was very good and the atmosphere was helped by the other (friendly) diners. Excellent service helped soften the blow that prices here are similar to London!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went here for dinner tonight really gorgeous food. Crab and apple starter was delish and lovely plump scallops for mains. Only let down was service. It may be because we were seated upstairs and out of sight out of mind. The food arrived promptly but the dirty Dishes were not cleared for at least 30 mins and the coffee that was ordered was forgotten completely. Would go back but ask to be seated in main part of restaurant downstairs

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkelly, co mayo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food- beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Family meal here on a Thursday night. All on our first visit but will definitely be back. Lovely selection of starters/delicious main courses- loved my monkfish and we had to share dessert as so full. Great service with a smile!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport england
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

What a delicious meal. I didn't know salad could taste so amazing! Great service. In my opinion, the best meal we had in Westport.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Guest Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear cogz,
Thanks very much for your review - we are really glad you enjoyed dining at our restaurant! Hope to see you back sometime soon!
All our best,
The staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Port Mor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.