We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant - well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Port Mor Restaurant

An Port Mor Restaurant
1 Brewery Place | Pedestrian Access Laneway. Adjacent to Main Thoroughfare, Second Side Street on Left Following One Way System, Westport, Ireland (Formerly An Port Mor)
+353 98 26730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $28 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An Port Mor Restaurant is run by Chef-Proprietor Frankie Mallon. Our philosophy is to use seasonal, artisan produce from local suppliers. House specialities include pot roasted pigs cheeks with black pudding & apple and vanilla sauce and 21 day dry-aged sirloin. The main emphasis is, however, on local fresh seafood and shellfish, particularly lobster, crab, scallops and langoustines fresh from the west coast of Ireland, especially Clew Bay.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The food, the service & the atmosphere were just top knotch. We had fish & it was fresh & beautifully presented. All three courses were excellent & didn't disappoint. Whilst it is not cheap, the food is of the highest quality & fresh. Make sure to book in advance as it gets quite busy. In our view it was the best restaurant in Westport

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear tonybatt,
Thank you for your kind words! we are delighted you enjoyed the 'An Port Mór' experience and look forward to meeting you next time you are in!

All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

1 Brewery Place
Westport

Find us Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    100
    29
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Freddie is Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by Martin Shanahan, the owner of Fishy Fishy in Kinsale, so we drove to it, as part of our tour around the west coast of Ireland (which is fantastic, by the way). It can be found along a narrow alleyway leading from the high street and looks like a converted cottage. I started with a delicious mixture of smoked salmon and crab. For main course, my wife had the steak and I had the fried turbot. Both dishes were very good and accompanied by a sweet potato dauphinoise, which was superb. We finished with homemade ice cream and strawberries. Our soft drinks were free and our two infants enjoyed a tomato pasta, but most of it ended up on the floor. Had we known, we would have emptied the pasta straight onto the floor, and saved our delightful children the effort. Fortunately, we were sitting outside, so we didn't ruin anybody else's evening. The evening was casual and relaxed and Freddie came out from his kitchen for a chat and recommended the next restaurant to include in our tour. An Port Mor is highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Arthurionius,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and your family and we we delighted to be able to offer you al fresco dining, especially with the glorious weather. Long may it last! Enjoy the rest of your gourmet tour!

All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

1 Brewery Place
Westport

Follow us on Twitter! @ APMwestport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super food & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate at An Port Mor last night. No reservation but a waiter directed us to Moran's pub next door and came and got us when a table became free. Both starters and mains were superb and there are surprises which I won't divulge but they're great. Super find in Westport!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Alex E,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, we are delighted you enjoyed dining with us! Hope to see you again in future!
Kind regards,

All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

1 Brewery Place
Westport

Follow us on Twitter! @ APMwestport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet food and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The food is all locally and sustainably sourced. The quality, presentation, and taste was perfection. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Michael P,
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience with us and appreciated the quality of our food and enjoyed our service. We look forward to seeing you again in future!

Kind regards,
All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

1 Brewery Place
Westport

Find us on Facebook ~ An Port Mór Restaurant~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb food, great ambience. Pricey but well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal with two friends last night. Everything top notch, some complimentary things thrown in. Service was excellent. The chef/owner (think his name is Frankie Mallon, guy from Armagh), came out to chat to us at one point. Completely accessible menu and very high standards overall. Was pricey but not over the odds - more than worth it for the overall food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnPortMor, Public Relations Manager at An Port Mor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear AdrianWeckler,
Thanks for taking the time to express your views of our restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you back in future!

Warm regards,

All the staff @ An Port Mór Restaurant

1 Brewery Place
Westport

Follow us on Twitter! @ APMwestport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Port Mor Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to An Port Mor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Port Mor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.