We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vulcano

Il Vulcano
High Street , Westport, Co. Mayo, Westport, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 78 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mother site here: http://www.almuretto.ie/
Westport, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and good service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I ate here last night as part of a group for a friend's birthday.
I got the penne pollo e broccoli as did afew others at the table. It was delicious and the portion size was just right!
For dessert i got pancakes and ice cream which were also delicious.Looking around the table at the other desserts they all looked divine! I quietly asked the waitress to surprise our friend with a candle in her dessert and she was happy to oblige.
So overall good food, good service and good prices! What more could you want!!
Keep up the good work il vulcano!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top class Italian Restaurant that is very family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate in Il Vulcanology in July. The early bird menu is very good value and you get a very decent glass of wine with it. my restaurants do not include coffee in the early bird price but Il Vulcano is the exception. They are very accommodating with regards to children's food. They allowed us to split an early bird menu between 2 children and to swap the wine for a soft drink. The food was excellent and there was a great atmosphere in the restaurant. We have eaten here several times and the food is always of a very high consistent standard. A gem of a restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
“Should be in the top 10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Would highly recommend Il Vulcano, 10/10 for food, service and ambience!We were a party of 13 diners and we were all impressed! The staff couldn't do enough for us. Make sure you book a table so your not disappointed as they had to turn a few away!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went here on our recent trip to Westport- we had no reservation and they were able to accommodate us even though it was busy. The seafood pasta dishes were so fresh and plentiful and they even put together a basic pasta dish for my 4 year old without any hassle and at a very good price. We all left very well fed and satisfied- there is nothing pretentious about this restaurant and I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great for families and kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were greeted bý friendly waiters who were very helpful to us all evening. We were very pleased. The variety was amazingly wide!! I had a pepperoni pizza which smelt and tasted very good . So if your in Westport and u dont know where to go I reccomend this Place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Il Vulcano also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Il Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vulcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.