We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lurgan House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lurgan House B&B to your Saves list
Lurgan House B&B
Carrownalurgan, West Rd | Westport county Mayo., Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Lurgan House. After arriving and taking a short nap, our hostess brought us tea, coffee and fresh-baked scones....a true Irish Welcome.

The B&B was clean, comfortable and the hostess was available to answer any questions.

I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We, two couples, had the wonderful chance to stay at Lurgan House, owned by Ena and Ger Scahill. From first stepping in the doorway you had a sense of welcome, combined with a comforting feeling that this is a good place to lay one'e head. The home was immaculate and we happened to arrive just as Ena was changing all the bed linens and comforters for the next guests. That in itself tells me, she takes pride in her home and that her guests are important to her.

She has a lovely lounge (family room) where we can all sit and enjoy TV, she makes a splendid cup of tea or coffee and is a wonderful conversationalist if you are so inclined to include her. She is very knowledgeable about Westport and the area surrounding it and what to see and do and eat. The information was so appreciated and enjoyed.

When we left we felt we were leaving someone we would miss with hopes that our paths would cross again.

Hoping that more travellers have the chance to stay with Ena, as it will be a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I was taking a walking tour of the Western Way and Lurgan House was a last minute subsitute for another B&B. I was delighted at the large room and the wonderful bathroom including a full size tub! The house was warm and inviting and Ena was so helpful. She was flexible in transporting me to the foot of Croagh Patrick and my luggage to the next location. The 10 minute walk to Westport was delightful and easy. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at Lurgan House and found it just beautiful. The house was clean and spacious, the bedrooms and bathrooms comfortable and the breakfast was excellant. The parking was more than adequate and the location was great. Sitting on a quite road with nice veiws from all windows it was quite peaceful. Ina and Jared shared helpful information on the area and gave us good tips on day trips They even let us use the computer to check email. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking to explore County Mayo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13357
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed at the Lugan house last week .
The accomadations were the best we had in all Ireland and the Innkeeper was the most friendly as well .It was an excellent choice .

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Ena was very welcoming and spent time visiting with us about our journey, offering very helpful suggestions. The home is lovingly constructed and decorated, very clean and warm. Bed was comfortable with plenty of blankets. Nice shower! Food was excellent. We'd absolutely recommend it as our favorite B&B in Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Ena is an outstanding hostess, very friendly and most helpful. We stayed upstairs in Room #2 overlooking the front of the house out onto a field full of sheep. The room was very large with a king sized bed and a twin as well. A closet held extra pillows and blankets should we need them. The bathroom was decent sized and held all the needed amenities, we were even given extra towels on request. Our room was spotless and comfortable; the house cozy and welcoming. Breakfast was tasty and came with all the usual assortment of cold and hot options in a standard Irish B&B. The short distance to Westport town could easily be walked (though we drove it) and the small side road the house is on means little or no traffic going by. All in all, a lovely country B&B. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lurgan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurgan House B&B

Address: Carrownalurgan, West Rd | Westport county Mayo., Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lurgan house bed and breakfast has 4 bed rooms en-suite on 1st floor,tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms also guest lounge on ground floor. fabulous mountain and sea views. Walking distance from Westport Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lurgan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lurgan House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.