We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite B&B in Westport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lurgan House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lurgan House B&B to your Saves list
Lurgan House B&B
Carrownalurgan, West Rd | Westport county Mayo., Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 64 Westport B&B and Inns
Eugene, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our new favorite B&B in Westport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We've been visiting family in Westport for 20 years, and always stayed in the center of town. This year we made reservations late, so had to look further afield. Lucky us - that's how we found Lurgan House. Just a short drive (or a pleasant walk into town), but with a countryside feeling, we were made to feel welcome right away with a pot of tea and a chat. That set the tone for this exceptionally warm and friendly B&B. The rooms and baths were beautifully furnished, spacious and quiet. Breakfast was of excellent quality and varied. For our next visit to Westport, we'll definitely book ahead at lovely Lurgan House.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kresgeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Very enjoyable visit to Lurgan House in June, with my wife and daughter, A beautiful house a gracious and welcoming proprietor. Would recommend whole heartedly. Sorry we had only one evening to spend.
Pat, Brigid and Kathleen McGlone

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Ena's default is always smiling, welcoming, happy and relaxed so how can you not enjoy a stay here? On the practical side, Ena took time to find out what we had come to the area for and directed us appropriately and was always interested in our days adventures on our return to the B&B. Never once did we feel we had to fit in with her timetable, there was always an athmosphere of good Irish frinedleness .... as you would expect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A fully engaged and charmimg owner, Ena, couldn't do enough for us. The major delight given our large group was to learn three of the rooms were in a seperate house w/a kitchen and dining area. B'fast was served in the main house dining area and there was easy access to the town. A gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Another B&B in Westport was recommended to us but when we arrived in town it was full. The proprietor recommended the Lurgan House and it turned out to be one of our favorite B&Bs we stayed in during our three week holiday in Ireland. It is located just outside town on a very narrow little road with sheep grazing across the road. A great location. Christina was great and the breakfast was lovely. There is a nice lounge to relax in and watch TV. As it turned out, we were there during the Leinster-Southhampton rugby championship and it wasn't being shown on a local channel available in the lounge. I was invited to watch it with the family in their family room. I got a quick lesson in rugby and really enjoyed the game! We ended up staying two nights and it was near the top of our list of B&Bs in Ireland. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My husband and I were so happy we chose Lurgan House for our 2 day stay in Westport. The B and B is a short walk into town, on the Louisburg Road. Our room was very nice overlooking the field across the street. Ena was a fantastic host, providing us with dinner recommendations, directions to find my famiily's homestead in Louisburg, and she even dd our laundry! Her traditional Irish breakfast was one of the best we had one our entire trip.
I would highly recommend the Lurgan House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Lurgan House. After arriving and taking a short nap, our hostess brought us tea, coffee and fresh-baked scones....a true Irish Welcome.

The B&B was clean, comfortable and the hostess was available to answer any questions.

I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lurgan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurgan House B&B

Address: Carrownalurgan, West Rd | Westport county Mayo., Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lurgan house bed and breakfast has 4 bed rooms en-suite on 1st floor,tea/coffee facilities in bedrooms also guest lounge on ground floor. fabulous mountain and sea views. Walking distance from Westport Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Lurgan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lurgan House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.