We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madden's Bistro

Madden's Bistro
James St | (Clew Bay Hotel), Westport, Ireland
00353 98 28088
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 71 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $11 - $51
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Madden's Bistro is a classy bustling restaurant in the heart of Westport Co. Mayo, and is popular with everyone, guests, locals and visitors alike to the Clew Bay Hotel. The stylish design is a perfect foil for the adjoining Madden’s Bar. Let your taste buds test us, try seafood, traditional roasts or some continental classic dishes. Monday to Friday: 12.30 hrs. to 15.30 hrs. and 17.30 hrs. to 21.00 hrs. Saturday: 12.30 hrs. to 21.30 hrs. Sunday: 12:30 hrs. to 21:00 hrs. Snack menu available Monday to Friday from 12.30 hrs. to 17.30 hrs., and Saturday from 12:30 hrs. to 17:00 hrs. Children's playroom available.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Great meal, very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was another nice meal, service was very good from the time that we entered the restaurant until we paid the bill.

We has the prawn cocktail, seafood chowder, fish special and scallops. Each meal was very well prepared and well presented and a delight to eat. highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Madden's Bistro, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Cocotampa123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent dining experience in Madden's Bistro.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.

Our fish dishes are one of our specialities!

We do hope you will try our other delicious menu options in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamison, Pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a wonderful dinner at Madden's and my children told me I must write them a great review on Trip Advisor. The service was delightful - not overbearing, but prompt. We had a mix of food from fish and chips to rack of lamb and a lovely salmon. The kids finished up with a fantastic warm brownie. The price was quite good. It was about €100 for the five in my family which included wine and beer for my husband and I. It's a good pick.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Madden's Bistro, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Chrismiller2523,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your recent dining experience in Madden's Bistro.

It sounds like you had a delightful time with your family, and enjoyed your delicious food & drinks.

Thank you for taking the advice of your children and leaving a review on Trip Advisor.

We do hope you will come and dine with us again, and enjoy some more fabulous fare!

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson

Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

From starter to dessert - all v good. I would recommend the warm home baked chocolate brownie. If the weather is good, definitely take the opportunity to dine outside.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Madden's Bistro, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Gretta C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of your recent dining experience in Madden's Bistro. Certainly our homemade chocolate brownies are very tasty and locally renowned.

We do hope you will choose us again for your next meal out in Westport.

With very best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ate here as part of an Easter break in the hotel. No complaints about the standard of the food and service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Madden's Bistro, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Rene1226794,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your visit to Madden's Bistro last year.

We pride ourselves on the quality, range and offering of our dining experience in the bistro style.

We are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clew Bay Hotel & Madden's Bistro again very soon.

With best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a lovely meal here. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed the meal and found it to be good value for money

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clewbayhotel, Sales & Marketing at Madden's Bistro, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear MacClanIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of your recent lunch with us in Madden's Bistro. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal, and that you found our serving team warm and friendly.

We very much look forward to having you join us for your next meal here in Westport at Madden's Bistro.

With best wishes,

Neil Thompson
Sales & Marketing
Clew Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madden's Bistro also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Madden's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madden's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.