We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic birthday celebration in sage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Restaurant

Sage Restaurant
High Street, Westport, Ireland
098 56700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Westport
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic birthday celebration in sage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Twelve ladies ate here on friday night. We were celebrating a big birthday. It was excellant the menu is very varied with a great choice. All of the ladies were delighted with the food which is a great compliment to the restaurant. The service was excellent . The staff were very helpful and friendly , because of our big number we were swopping and changing but nothing was a problem with the staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Probably suggest goin for early bird if u are on a budget.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    66
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Sodbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Jewel in the crown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Westport town has no shortage of great places for dinner, the sage is head and shoulders above some good competition! Food, wine and service all faultless. Make sure to book! We chanced it on a cold damp midweek night in march and were lucky to get seated! If you are in westport try this one!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal and Experience - All on the Early Bird Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Who knew that one of our best dining experiences would be in little Westport Ireland. We lucked into this place, took advantage of the early bird menu and had an incredible dining experience for our large party of nine. The seafood in particular was outstanding, and imaginatively prepared.
If it weren't so far from home, we would be back. Thanks.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Food great, loved pottery jobs on table. Window area needs TLC and new curtains. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Visiting westport checked out restaurants on tripadvisor and Sage rated highly. And we were soo
impressed from the ring back to confirm our booking( so glad we did as we saw many people being turned away- what delights they missed) the food was outstanding the staff friendly obliging and efficient the early bird menu was seriously good value. Lovely touches- complementary
breads before and petit fours after with their own liqueur our bottle of house Shiraz was excellent
All in all great lovely evening oh and great atmosphere -says it all

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Restaurant also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Sage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.