We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca - CLOSED

Enoteca
Market Lane, Westport, Ireland
087 2793368
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: If you have visited Italy and you like Authentic Italian Food and Atmosphere.Then this is ENOTECA. Family run with a combined 30 years of experience IN ITALY.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful decor, amazing food and verry good service!!!
We will def going back!!
Well done enoteca!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    5
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westport
1 review
“Dishonest service, nice food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We decided to eat at this restaurant because it is advertised as an Italian, had a good seafood menu and because it looked so really nice inside. After we were taken to our seats and given the menu by the owner, he then proceeded to tell us that the chef had decided to take the shrimp and scallops off the starter menu - those were starters that we wanted. Anyway, I picked something else from the list, but this was not available either, and I was given yet another, slightly over-bearing, silly excuse. The food we received was good, and the service we received from the part-time waiter was also good, but as we were about to leave, another party had just being seated where I heard the owner offer all the seafood items that I had been told were off the menu. This was really annoying. I have mentioned this to others that dined in this restaurant, and it seems this kind of treatment is not unusual. There are some really fine restaurants in Westport and they will receive my custom in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless meal and service at Enoteca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with my Dad to Enoteca in Westport for a meal on the May bank holiday weekend and couldn't praise it highly enough. Everything we had was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection - fabulous seared scallops to start, a fantastic pork belly roast and a fragrant breaded plaice main course to follow, both of which were divine. And all of this washed down with a really excellent bottle of Primitivo, which is our favourite and not always easy to come by. We had a great chat about wines with Robert, who was very enthusiastic and free with his information regarding sourcing wines. Excellent and friendly staff who were always happy to answer your queries and meet your needs. Offered an on the house digestive to finish. Couldn't ask for more and am absolutely delighted to be able to bring visitors to this great restaurant when they come to visit in Westport. 10 out of 10 for Enoteca! Keep it up guys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Love this restaurant. I was in Westport for the weekend for my friends 30th birthday. We ate there on Saturday night. I really can't fault the restaurant in any way. They did everything right. They were very accommodating. A friend of mine couldn't decide between two dishes so they gave him a bit of both. We also requested some meals in smaller portions and some starters as main course sizes. The food is incredibly good value and fabulous. The service was top notch. Good job guys and next time I am in Westport I will be coming back!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Memorable Italian Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

So many restaurants...so little time! We were just staying overnight in Westport and popped our heads in to Enoteca in the afternoon to make a booking for 8 that evening - and are so glad we did! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Robert who talked us through the specials, of which there were many, due to the delivery of lots of varieties of fish that day. The dishes were not just named but their individual ingredients and cooking methods explained.
It was so difficult to choose as they all sounded delicious but we opted for two of the special starters - a bouillabaisse type soup and an Italian version of fish 'en papillote'. The soup was a very generous portion, packed with shellfish and diced vegetables and the parcel of cod was exactly as described, cooked with fresh and semi dried tomatoes and served with mozzarella and toasted ciabatta, light and tasty.
We also chose two of the specials as mains - loin of pork on the bone which had been slow cooked and was very moist and flavoursome and pasta with a fresh sauce and a beautifully cooked portion of ray.As we are red wine drinkers we went with the suggestion of a bottle of Chianti and it was a good choice as it complemented the pork and did not overpower the fish.
We sadly had no room for dessert and finished off with a brandy, a grappa and good coffee. And the bill was less than 90 euros!
Throughout the evening Robert popped over to check that we were happy and to give information on the provenance of the food. A charming waiter gave us helpful information on the different types of live music in the pubs around town.Great service all evening in fact.
What stood out was the quality of the ingredients and the fact that everything had been freshly cooked - which is often not the case in busy restaurants. Congrats. to the chef who is Robert's wife - or "the boss" as he called her -theirs is a winning combination and one I look forward to enjoying again when next in the west.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca also viewed

Westport, County Mayo
 
Westport, County Mayo
Westport, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.