We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Times Hotel Westport

Save Saved
You added Mill Times Hotel Westport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill Times Hotel Westport
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mill St | Town Centre, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Westport
N.Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We got a great welcome on arrival from Laura Rose ( I think her name was). Our room was a little tired but spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a double and single in the room so I think the room was bigger than a standard double. The only complaint I would have was that the duvet was too warm for the temperatures we have been having. It would have been nice to have a sheet so that we could have done without the duvet. We were lucky enough to get into the car park all of the 3 nights we were there as there is limited parking. It was nice to be able to leave the car and walk around the town as the hotel is in a very convenient location. Westport is a buzzing town with lots going on. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice for both continental and hot breakfast. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I decided to go to the beauticians while there and asked at reception where was the best place to go. The girl ( sorry didn't get her name ) said they had arrangements with 2 local beauticians and she would ring both and see who would give me the best deal for the treatments I wanted. This she did and also made the appointment for me. Couldn't fault this hotel on service and value for money. We were on a supavalu deal which included dinner on one evening. Quite often on a deal like this you get a limited menu but this was not the case at the Mill Times. We had the works and it was all excellent. Would have no hessitation on reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you N_IrelandFranco for posting your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Good Times at the Mill Times on your recent visit to Westport. As you mention, we are in a great location, with many shops, pubs and restaurants just around the corner! We are so pleased that you found our friendly and welcoming staff on hand to help, as we pride ourselves in our customer service, especially our Receptionist Laura Rose.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope you will recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    133
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
87
241
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we cant wait to go back again! The rooms are small and a bit too hot but any shortfall there is more than made up for by the fact that the staff are just fantastic and the food truly amazing. Our 5 year old was treated so well and was asked what she would like which makes a nice change from quizzing Mam and Dad and ignoring the child completely - other hotels take note !! Parents that are heading off for the day should avail of the complimentary cordials in the bar on the way back from breakfast for filling up kids juice bottles - much appreciated by us. Thanks again for a lovely visit to Westport, we'll be back !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you April D for posting your review. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed Good Times at the Mill Times on your recent visit to Westport. We are so pleased that you found our friendly and welcoming staff on hand to help, as we pride ourselves in our customer service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope you will recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the only hotel that we've booked through Trip Advisor that I would say was unsuccessful. Having said that, the staff were all invariably nice and helpful.

While the hotel property was minimal, the meal we had at the restaurant was quite nice and the saving grace of the stay. Parking was not available in the garage, so we had to park on the street and move the car by 9AM.

Our room looked nothing like the one on their web site. The room was spartan to say the least. Our beds were old, short, narrow and not very comfortable. I do not believe there is air conditioning (at least in our room), so it was either very stuffy or you had the window open. We opted for the window open and experienced the bars closing in the early morning and beer bottles being thrown in the bin after closing. Not a good night sleep for us.

We did have a nice and imaginative meal at Temptations. The staff were friendly and helpful, so when not in our room, we enjoyed ourselves and had some good food. I would say that the breakfast was pretty basic by Irish standards.

Probably would not recommend unless your on a budget. Our rate was nearly €200 for two, so it wasn't cheap to begin with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you A2travler for sharing your experience of Mill Times Hotel Westport. I was pleased to read you sampled our deluxe dinner menu in Temptations Restaurant and we are happy you enjoyed our friendly and welcoming team, who are on hand to help our guests in any way they can.
Thank you for your highlighting our shortcomings, we are in the process of upgrading our rooms, and I apologise that on this occasion that we did not live up to your expectations. I hope you will consider choosing the Mill Times Hotel on your next visit to Westport, and if I can be of any assistance making a booking for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a get together of school friends in this restaurant recently. Found it to be an excellent location from a staff friendliness and meal quality point of view. Everyone very happy and anxious to repeat the experience. Good value and great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you Des K for sharing your experience of Mill Times Hotel Westport. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our friendly and welcoming team, who are on hand to help our guests in any way they can, and thank you for your high recommendations.
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Warm regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just couldn't let the Summer pass without a return trip to the Mill Times.Had a lovely two night break.Staff as always were so helpful and friendly. The food was excellent with a great choice for adults and children. Children are so well catered for everywhere and my two children were particularly impressed with the playroom with an array of toys for all ages. There was music entertainment in the evening. There was great excitement in the hotel as it was the weekend of the Donegal and Mayo match. There was a fine Donegal flag behind the bar proudly hung and on the morning of the match they pulled out all the stops with a great display of balloons in the mayo colours. Unfortunately we couldn't wait for the match but I could see it was definitely the place to be in Westport to watch it. Thanks to all the staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you 597Siobhan101 for sharing your experience at the Mill Times Hotel on your recent visit to Westport, and thank you for your lovely comments on our staff, and your high recommendations. We are a home away from home in this small boutique hotel, where customer service is our forté.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon and hope you will continue to recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We regularly have our Sunday lunch at the Mill Times. Beside the good food, it's a lively family time which adds to the enjoyment. Children are well catered for and don't upset other diners. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Recommend it any time.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you John N for sharing your experience at the Mill Times Hotel on your recent visit for Sunday Lunch, and thank you for your lovely comments on our staff, and your high recommendations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon and hope you will continue to recommend us to your friends. Kind regards, Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just had 3 wonderful days at this hotel. A family gathering with English and Canadian cousins. Right from the moment we booked in it was brilliant. The staff were excellent and so helpful friendly etc. We had fab breakfast every morning, we had a great dinner in Temptations and I can only praise it to the highest. Sure the room we were in was a little noisy when the window was open and too hot when closed, apart from that it was a great place to stay,

Room Tip: maybe try a room at the back, less noise, but if staying in winter the rooms will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette M, Front Office Manager at Mill Times Hotel Westport, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you Annemay for taking the time to write a review of Mill Times Hotel Westport. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed good times at the Mill Times recently with your family and extended family! Our breakfast is cooked to order with a variety of cold buffet choices, and customer service is our forte ensuring all our guests feel at home, while staying us. Our location is indeed very central to the many shops, pubs and restaurants in Westport town.
I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Westport,
Warm Regards,
Colette Moran, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Times Hotel Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Times Hotel Westport

Address: Mill St | Town Centre, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Westport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#6 Business Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Times Hotel Westport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3 star Boutique Hotel - The Mill Times Hotel offers a stylish oasis in the centre of the thriving town of Westport. We have recently undergone major refurbishments in what was The Westport Inn Hotel. The complete makeover consisted of Uncle Sam's Bar, Temptations Restaurant and the O'Malley Conference & Banquet Suite. All bedrooms are en-suite and equipped with direct dial telephone, TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron/ironing board and trouser press, wireless internet access. Complimentary limited car parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mill Times Hotel Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Times Boutique Hotel
Mill Times Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Times Hotel Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.