We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westport Country Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westport Country Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Aughagower, Westport, Co. Mayo, Ireland, Westport, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Westport
Navan, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“mixed views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed at the Westport Country Lodge Hotel in July of this year with the fiancee, were 29 and 25 and looking for a bit of a romantic weekend away/knees up in the town. Firstly I was dispointed by the hotel location and i found little or actually no signs to find it, had to ask 2 locals. Its about 4-5 miles from Westport which meant a taxi each night if your going socialising which we were, taxi cost €7 each way. Met by a very inexperienced barman upon arrival, asked what lagers where on draught, he told us 3 or 4 so herself ordered a pint of budweiser, he came back shortly saying they actually didnt have budweiser on tap, then she ordered a pint of coors light and he came back with bottles of coors light. We then ordered food of the barman. I went to pay the bill and he had forgotten all about the drinks that we had had earlier, luckily Im too nice and reminded him!.....anyway bad start with the inexperienced barman over with, the receptionist was very nice, helpful and welcoming with a warm smile. Interior of hotel was very nice. The room we stayed in was surprisingly big, comfortable and clean with a nice view of mountains (but not croagh patrick). Id rate food 7/10 - found one hair in cheesecake but genuinely otherwise than this it was very nice food - breakfast = top notch, john joe local taxi man = top notch. Would possibly stay here again but would look elsewhere first next time im going to westport pure and simply for location wise, not fond on forking out on taxis in and out of town every night.

Room Tip: the room was the best part of the hotel, beds huge and comfy and springy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    54
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
106
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Overall very good and would happily stay again; nice modern interior, comfortable room with a huge bed, friendly staff and decent breakfast.
Negatives: the grounds of the hotel look unfinished and do detract from 1st impressions. Also the heater in the bedroom was not working, nor in our friends room and while it was not particularly cold, it's a bit cheeky to have them disconnected in the so-called summer months (damp, drizzly day!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just returned from a four day stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms were excellent, and definitely the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. The food served was delicious and a great choice on the menu. We will most certainly be back. Deirdre and Niamh

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just returned from 4 day stay in hotel, can not recommend it enough.

The staff were excellent, extremely relaxed and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in!. The food in the hotel was delicious. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Westport.

Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for looking after us.


Deirdre and Niamh O'Hara

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel with a very large group from the north for a family wedding. it was the most fantastic hotel, the bedrooms were beautiful. the breakfasts were fantastic and so very relaxed. We had a lot of children with us and they were welcomed with open arms and everything done to accommodate them. The staff made it feel like a home from home and totally went out of their way to meet our every requirement. I would recommend this hotel highly even though itis slightly out of the town it is most certainly woth a visit especially for anyone with young children and the grounds were amazing. To Dela and her staff a most sincere thanks once again. Annmarie and Paul Watsoin

Room Tip: famlly rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlaoise
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great hotel for quiet break in a nice rural and scenic location just outside Westport.
Westport €8 by taxi for 4 is very lively at weekends and you will appreciate this when you leave.
Nice rooms, big bed with great bathroom.Restaurant has good food at reasonable prices.
Staff very friendly.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is ideally placed for anyone doing the Croagh Patrick Heritage Trail or the Tochar walk as it is a few kilometers from the very picturesque village of Aughagower through which both routes pass. Three things really impressed me about the hotel. Firstly mid week I was not charged a single room supplement. Secondly the rate was extremely good value. Thirdly when the walk took longer than expected such that it seemed that we would not make it back before the kitchen closed we rang in an order to hotel reception who were so good as to check with the chef and ring us back with recommendations as to what main courses would keep best. Notwithstanding our late arrival we were served very welcome hot food of a very high standard shortly after our arrival. Within minutes of siting down the receptionist came over to check that we had sufficient water to re-hydrate after our exertions. The hotel staff are extremely attentive to detail and provide a very personable and personal service. The hotel is in a rural area so there is no noise and a good view of Croagh Patrick and its environs from the breakfast room. Apart from the being ideal for walkers many of the other guests were retirees and the hotel struck me as being ideal for the less mobile as it is small, the lift is near the breakfast area and bar/restaurant and little effort is required to get round the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westport Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Country Lodge Hotel

Address: Aughagower, Westport, Co. Mayo, Ireland, Westport, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Westport
#11 Family Hotel in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With grounds that stretch over 36 acres, The Westport Lodge Hotel provides guests with the ultimate getaway!Our Hotel is situated just under three miles from village of Westport which lies in Western Ireland. Our guests choose our hotel for the many different reasons and we are confident that you will find something to suit your interests.Westport Lodge Hotel offers luxury accommodation in Ireland at affordable prices, giving you value for your money and a real taste of the Irish countryside.Marrying traditional with modern, our hotel never disappoints our guests who do not want to sacrifice luxury to experience the traditional Western Irish Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westport Country Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Country Hotel Westport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westport Country Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.