We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Windermere House to your Saves list
Windermere House
Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Kay was such a kind hostess, and tea and scones on arrival with a good chat was a welcoming touch. Handy location for Castlebar, Westport and Knock airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
34
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lippstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed with Kay for two nights in June and it was really great and one of the best BB we had.
We had a great room and it was really clean. Kay gave us a feeling like coming home. She welcomed us with tea and homebacking ginger cake, loveley.
Her breakfast was wonderful and very delicious.
I`m sure we`re coming back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Kay is a perfect host! She welcomed us with tea and biscuits, helped us with tips and said bye with fruits and biscuits to take away. The rooms are very clean, the place is warm and with a lot of personality. The Knock airport is 40 minutes away by car. I would sleep here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Kay on may 19th,2012 she is a wonderful host, when we checked in she gave us tea and homemade scones, which were the the best I have had on my trip to Ireland. We have been traveling around for over two weeks, we found Kay in the bed and breakfast book.
She gave us some places to see, we went to the Westport house, which we truly enjoyed seeing and the history.
We had a wonderful breakfast this morning, I really enjoyed the porridge and the boiled egg.
Please if you are in castlebar stay at the Windermere house, Kay will make sure you are treated great and you will enjoy your stay, along with the wonderful beds and view.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This B&B was, by far, our most favorite accommodation out of all the places we stayed during our month touring in Europe. Kay is the loveliest lady, offering exceptional service in every way...from the homemade scones and hot tea when you arrive, to the cozy fireplace, helpful advice for tourist attractions, comfy/clean/cozy lounge and bedroom, and, to top it off...hot and scrumptious BREAKFAST!! It was a home away from home and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get the absolute BEST bang for their buck! We spent time in Westport and enjoyed walking through it's quaint downtown streets and the views along the quay. We also saw the abandoned village on the beautiful Achill Island...highly recommend visiting these spots in addition to your visit to Castlebar! I know you will enjoy Windermere House as much as we did!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumet belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

rooms very good
Breakfast wonderfull
Hospitality super....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great Value, Excellent Host.
Daran & Siobhan will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House

Address: Westport Road, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Windermere House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.