We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glorious Spring in the West of Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harlequin Hotel Castlebar to your Saves list
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
ulsterIE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Glorious Spring in the West of Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our friends and us stayed for a 3-night break at the Harlequin in Castlebar quite recently. The hotel is pleasant and most things were right about the hotel but there just a few things that caused irritation. It would have been nice to have a/c to at least cool the room down. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room. It would have been nice to have hand cream/body lotion as a toiletry. It would have been nice to have daily newspapers available for breakfast dining. It would have been nice to have fresh fruit, bananas etc. available at breakfast. These types of things, I would have thought, are fairly standard in a 4-star hotel.

We had two evening meals in the restaurant. The food was good on both occasions. Just check your bill at check-out, I was double-charged for a bottle of wine on one of the nights.

All that being said, we had a great time in the west of Ireland and enjoyed our stay in the Harlequin.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Lannagh Rd and facing the hospital are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    173
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
232
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable but basic. No face cloths, shower cap, hair conditioner, fridge/mini bar... Stuff you might expect in a 4 star hotel. Rates are good and food is fine. Would stay again for value but won't expect ' luxuries' .

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've stayed here a few times and always have got a very good room rate each time for twin room. It's very centrally located in the town....hotel itself ticks all the boxes - restaurant offers good food and wine....and there are bar facilities in the lobby/reception area. Bit strange it doesn't have a separate lounge/bar but that's just minor quibble. I would rate the hotel as three star - not really up to four-star standards.- it has not pool or leisure facilities nor does it offer any or spa/beauty treatments. Most four-star hotels generally have their own separate lounge/bar areas, in addition to providing guests the opportunity to use pool, leisure facilities etc..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The room was lovely, clean cosy and with a fantastically comfy bed. The receptionist was lovely and really made me feel welcome. I stayed for work and was quite late arriving, almost too late for food there, the waiter didn't seem too impressed with my late arrival and rushed me to make my mind up and order, understandable but I was there a good 30mins before last orders. A colleague moved tables to sit with me and I got impression again we were an inconvineince to the waiter. The menu was limited for someone like me who can't eat everything and I was left with quite an expensive steak that really was no more then average. Breakfast however was good, decent variety and quite tasty. I'd stay there again but would go elsewhere for food, there's a macdonalds across the road that would have been friendlier and more affordable! But I do hope to be back, the rest of the staff were lovely and the rooms were really good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here last weekend and was very impressed with the hotel. Staff on check-in were very friendly and helpful. The foyer, reception, bar and restaurant are all within the main area as you walk into the hotel, separated by partitions. As strange as it sounds, it actually works very well and overall, it's a nice comfortable, relaxing place to be. I was in a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel. While there was some road noise, it was not noticeable enough to prevent me from sleeping (and I am a light sleeper). I think this may have been because the 4th floor rooms are set back a little compared to the rest of the floors. I found the décor in the room a little plain but my room was very clean and the large bed was very comfortable. Bathroom small but had everything you'd need. I can't comment on the breakfasts as I didn't have any. However, I did have dinner at the hotel and was impressed with the food. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Harlequin and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room on 4th floor at front of hotel and road noise was not too intrusive to affect sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

There are a lot of positives about the hotel, including location and that the rooms are fairly decent with a large bed. On the weekend we stayed the food let the hotel down. We had availed of a special offer which included and evening meal. Starters were okay be the main course was very poor. Considering this is the west of Ireland you'd expect the fish dish to be up to scratch. Mentioned it to the staff that it was poor and we received an apology. Breakfast was adequate both mornings. Finally, there is no lounge area as the Bar/reception area is not very cosy and seems to be attached to the restaurant/dinning area. No common area to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel, strange layout that can be confusing at the start but ok once you find your way round. Friendly staff but hard to find at times. Rooms are comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down self service and not great. I did find the price a bit much €75 per room on a Wednesday night is a bit much if your on a budget stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Address: Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.