We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Save Saved
You added Harlequin Hotel Castlebar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Castlebar
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Harlequin Hotel. As we were going away to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary I decided at the last minute to email the hotel to check how much a upgrade would be? Lisa the receptionist kindly replied saying she had upgraded us complimentary to a Deluxe Room and wished us a Happy Anniversary, now this is why I love this hotel.
Staff are very friendly. As always the dinner in the restaurant was excellent. As always rooms were clean. I'm very fussy when it come to hotels and I guess this one has ticked all the boxes for been excellent because I will be looking out for good deals again for our 4th visit:-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear mazieIreland
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at Harlequin Hotel, we were delighted that you decided to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and that Lisa arrange a complementary upgrade for your special occasion.
It was a pleasure to read that you find all the staff are very friendly and the dinner in the restaurant was excellent. And as always rooms were clean. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly upon your next visit to Harlequin as we are looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    150
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
200
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend in this hotel over Easter . It is in the town near the centre of the town and next to the theatre. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was having trouble getting onto the wifi so they got the chef (an iPhone expert) to fix it up for me.....only in Ireland! The rooms are well designed and spacious and the food was delicious,my husband is allergic to onion so they made a special topping for the baked fish. The hotel is well placed for touring Mayo,on the Saturday we visited the museum of country life(free admission) really enjoyable then went west through Westport and Louisburgh to a beautiful beach at Mweelrea. The parking is included,my only little complaint was how difficult it was to get onto the wifi. We really enjoyed our stay at the Harlequin and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear mogey2,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin hotel from your stay at Easter. As you mentioned we are located in the centre of the town and next to the theatre. I was delighted to read that you found the staff was very pleasant and helpful and that the chef got the wifi working for you.
I am glad that your room was well designed and spacious and you found the food was delicious, and that your husband was looked after do cater for all allergies once we are made aware of them. I was delighted to read that you visited the National Museum of Country life and that is free admission. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on business but couldn't help but think it is more of a couples hotel.Thats not a negitive by the way.The place is very upmarket. The food in the restuarant is top notch and the staff are friendly.I had a very well equipped room too.Highly recommended by me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear CKShels

Thank you, kindly for choosing to stay with us when you were on business in Castlebar. I know that you thought it has a leisurely feel to it, but we are indeed corporate hotel midweek, and our guest room’s bedrooms are specifically designed as so, with our lap top safe, and complementary Wifi and meeting room’s facilities. I am glad that you choose to dine with us and that you found our food to be top notch and the staff friendly.

I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Castlebar is a little town so the location is not a big deal if you have a car (just because it's very wet there). This hotel is the best if you are travelling with a family, business. Bathroom was a bit small, but well cleaned and maintained. Parking was a bonus but with pricy rooms it should be included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mojahid

I would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel. As you mentioned the hotel is located in the centre of town, and you would not require a car to travel around the town, so it is handy that we have a complementary multi storey car park. We have many special offers and packages available sometimes it is best to book directly with the hotel to avail of the best rate,

We hope to welcome you back again,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the harlequin lots of times and cannot fault!!this hotel is an absolute gem.the staff are unbelievably friendly and efficient,Jonathon and Colm make it a home away from home!the rooms are always clean and warm and the food is sensational!!you would do well to find better service/food/accommodation,highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Aob212,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us each time your travel to Castlebar. It was an absolute pleasure to read that you consider our hotel to be an absolute gem. I will pass on your kind comments about the staff being unbelievably friendly and efficient. I am glad that your room is always clean and warm and the food is sensational!

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for one night on a neil delemere/b&b package deal.we were blessed with good weather which added to the room we got. shampoo and shower gel would've been welcome as a basic. first hotel we've stayed in that didn't have any. shower could be more powerful but we like baths which we had asked for when booking and that was sound. great storage space,comfortable bed and very cosy. check in and out was effortless and free parking a bonus. nice,friendly and helpful staff. the view of croagh patrick from the lounge area was beautiful. very nicely decorated hotel and well maintained inside and out, easy walking distance to all places in town. would love to dine in the restaurant next time we are in town to experience the food. breakfast was great BUT our pot of TEA was COLD and we had ordered COFFEE.. See you soon again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear tractor41,
Thank you for selecting our Neil Delemare package and I do hope that you enjoyed his show on Saturday night. It is our standard that we have our own shampoo and shower gel in all guest rooms my apologies that this was on oversight on your accommodation team. I am glad that you found your room was comfortable and very cozy and that the team was nice, friendly and helpful

The location as you mentioned is ideal with easy walking distance to all places in town. Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to dine this us for dinner, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Kind regards

Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms and decorated to a high standard. Spacious, light and airy with all the usual expectations of a good hotel. Only niggle was the towel quality, well worn and in need of replacement but perhaps this had slipped past quality control. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Webbcatc

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Harlequin Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you found our rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard and spacious, light and airy with all the usual expectations of a good hotel. Thank you for mentioning the towels we do replenish on a regular basis but that you for bringing this to my attention,
Thank you for recommend us to your friends, we hope to see you back in Harlequin again.
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Address: Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.