We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harlequin Hotel Castlebar to your Saves list
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel but wished I could have stayed for longer. Such a lovely place, the room was so comfortable, I slept like a log. A pure taste of luxury. Breakfast was simply gorgeous. Staff at reception were friendly & helpful. Easy parking, the Royal theatre just behind the hotel within walking distance. Would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Loved it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Rosey09,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin Hotel. Although it was just a short stay with us I am delighted that you enjoyed tour time here. I am glad that you found our hotel such a lovely place, the rooms so comfortable and you had a good nights sleep. It is a great location like you mentioned with easy access to the Royal Theatre with the hotel located just behind. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    172
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
231
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Harlequin is a pretty, modern, boutique hotel in a great location in Castlebar town. Access from the adjoining car park is very convenient. However, It is easy to miss the ramp for the car park, a U-turn was required.

The reception area is bright and modern without being garish. Nice layout for the bar meant that although travelling alone, I didn't feel uncomfortable having a drink there. Good food in the restaurant too.
Bedrooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Very good breakfast available.
All the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. I'd highly recommend the Harlequin and will return for a leisure visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear JewelJoan,
Thank you, so much for choosing to stay at the Harlequin hotel when you were in Castlebar on business. I am delighted that you found the Harlequin was pretty, modern, boutique hotel and the location is ideal for Castlebar town. The entrance into the multi story car park can be tricky but we will look at this with more signage.

I do appreciate you feedback about the layout as we do get mixed reactions about our bar area from time to time but I fully understand when travelling alone in business you don’t want to feel uncomfortable having a drink there. I am glad that you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast and that the team was extremely pleasant and helpful. Please keep recommending the Harlequin and we look forward to welcoming you back on you leisure stay next time.

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A tour of Galway, Mayo and Connemara by Caledonian Tours was not a disappointment – in fact Andy our driver was excellent and could not do enough for us taking into account our disabilities to make our break a great success. The tours were as promised – the cruise from Killary Harbour was very good and a pleasant surprise – the catamaran was large with very easy wheelchair access to an indoor lounge with large windows showing Ireland’s only Fjord – it would not be out of place in the South of France. The trip to Galway and the tour of Galway Town were excellent – our guide singing “Galway Bay” as we drove around the bay was very moving – and we were attentive as he described the historic town and the “Spanish Arches”.
The Harlequin Hotel Castlebar Mayo was above expectations and the interiors were beautiful and in excellent condition. The staff could not be more helpful and pleasant – they were cheery, well managed and well trained. The breakfast and dinners went like clockwork with a good choice served hot and like clockwork –but in a pleasant homely atmosphere – we found the food and the staff superb.
I felt the whole trip was good value for money and I would certainly recommend the Harlequin Hotel to family and friends. The hotel is linked to the Royal Theatre making a future visit to see one of the well known acts an attractive proposition.

Room Tip: Upper floors not a problem as lifts are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tom50Glasgow
I was a pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us at the Harlequin and particularly your tour of Connemara. I was delighted that we more than met your expectations and that you found our interior was beautiful and in excellent condition. I am glad that you found the team could not be more helpful and pleasant and that they were cheery well managed and well trained.
Thank you so much for you kind feedback from your overall experience, we really hope to welcome you back again in the near future when maybe taking in a visit at the Royal Theatre , we have Kevin Bridges in December or the Saw Doctors in end December,
Many thanks again & kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved the hotel the minute we walked in. Beautiful big spacious rooms, excellent food and staff that had such excellent service. Beautiful hotel, loved the decor. As we were just on the start of our honeymoon, the staff in the restaurant kindly presented us with a complementary bottle of wine with our meal. The staff in the restaurant were great , even obliging us by carrying all our tea items into the foyer for us as I had arranged to meet a friend there.

Room Tip: We chose a suite which was not much moire expensive than a regular room and it was similar to an apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tini411,

Thank you, so much for feedback about the hotel. I was great to read that from arrival you found your room was beautiful, big and spacious, that you had excellent food and the team provided you with such excellent service. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and look forward to welcoming you back again,

Kind regards

Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely, clean, spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Perfect if going to an event in the Royal Theatre, it's so close the hotel carpark has a connection to the theatre you don't even have to walk outdoors. Requested a quiet room but with traffic noise from side road would not have slept if I hadn't been wearing earplugs, so if a light sleeper make sure to bring some. Got the room for €99 (room only no breakfast), which was good value considering the standard of the room and decor of the hotel. Quick note about finding the hotel (Its behind the theatre), it seems to be marked in the wrong place on google maps and also our Satnav brought us to the wrong place too, not far off but its something to be aware of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Elaine24,
I would to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you found your rooms lovely, clean and spacious and my team friendly. It is indeed a great if not perfect location when going to an event in the Royal Theatre, as it's so close to the hotel and you can walk through our car park to go into the theatre.

My apologies that you found your room noisy, as we are located town center there is some traffic noise from time to time but I suppose with Dara O Briain on in the theatre the town was a lot busier than normal, next time when you stay with us we can locate you a room on the 4th floor so you wont need to bring the ear plugs.

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeogue, Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the ideal location for this meeting as my friends all live in or around Castlebar. Location was excellent. When we arrived the hotel looked fairly packed but later in the evening the crowd had slackened off.

Room Tip: Hotel was large and roomy. View was car park but not a problem as we did not spend much time in hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear EileenNoel,

Many thanks for writing a review on both the Harlequin Hotel & Harlequin Restaurant; we really appreciate all feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted that you were really impressed with our restaurant that you found the team and food superb, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Only spend a night here with my daughter. We arrived very late at night. Reception was quick and the service friendly. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for people visiting Castlebar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCastlebar, Manager at Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Cmonthebanner
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Harlequin Hotel. I know that you only had a short overnight stay with us but I am glad that you found reception was quick and the service friendly and your rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Thank you for recommending us to people that will be visiting Castlebar. We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Lynda Foley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harlequin Hotel Castlebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Hotel Castlebar

Address: Lannagh Road | Mayo, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Hotel Castlebar 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harlequin Hotel is Castlebar's only 4 Star Hotel. Located in the Theatre district beside the shops, cafes and restaurant and beside the Royal Theatre .With Knock Ireland West Airport just 30 minutes drive, the Harlequin is an ideal hotel for exploring Mayo and West of Ireland. Our Restaurant is one of Castlebar’s finest restaurants The Harlequin is open daily serving contemporary Irish and International cuisine. Allour guest bedrooms are designed with the usual 4 star amenities as well as complementary Wi Fi-, Free car parking, Hypnos beds, lap top safes in all our guests’ bedrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harlequin Hotel Castlebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Castlebar
Castlebar Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequin Hotel Castlebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.