We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's favorite accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Gates B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Garden Gates B & B to your Saves list
The Garden Gates B & B
Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently spent a week in Ireland, starting in Dublin and winding up and over. We stopped in towns including Bushmills, Donegal, Sligo, Clifden, Castlebar, Westport, Ballyshannon, Galway, and scenic stops like Giant's Causeway, Slieve League and the Aran Islands. We stayed in fancy hotels, inns, b&b's and self-catered apartments. The Garden Gates was my wife's favorite accommodation. That's all I need to say.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just come home from a three night stay. Having read the previous reviews on here I was a bit anxious that it wouldn't live up to my expectations, I needn't have worried as it more than exceeded it. Our room on the top floor was beautiful,large and airy. On arrival Martina met us with a bottle of water and homemade cake that was replaced each day of our stay. The choice of breakfast each morning was fantastic, with a wonderful range of homemade bread and perserves. Attention to the small things like remembering who drank coffee and who drank tea just made our stay very personal as did her interest and help in what our plans were. I couldn't recommend The Garden Gates highly enough, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed In the Garden Gate B&B twice in two weeks.
I highly recommend the B&B for everyone, the gardens and surrounding scenery are breathtaking. Martina the owner is the nicest warmest woman you could ever stay with, the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, warm, clean and fully equipped. Breakfast is amazing, loads of variety from fruit and yogurts, variety of cereals and to top off a wonderful very tasty full irish breakfast with the most amazing variety of home made breads.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

With scenic views, a wonderful atmosphere and the most friendly of staff, this has got to be one of the most comfortable places ive been! The price is more than reasonable and the rooms are perfect! I wont atay anywhere else when im in castlebar from now on! Thanks to all for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Mrs Martina and her house are both absolutely amazing. Her hospitality is excellent and the house and farm are just gorgeous.The dogs & hoses was funny we loved watching them. This is a five star plus . We had a great time she brought us ice water & lemon pound cake & tea for later .Breakfast was amazing fresh home made jams home made crapes smoked samion & all the fixings WOW it was great ...Thanks for the amazing time we will think of you & your slice of heavin oftin

Room Tip: The room up the stairs first door on right . you need to open the windows & look out breath taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful stay at a wonderful B & B. I couldn't have asked for a better way to celebrate my birthday with my family and friends. The B & B was spacious and very clean. The hospitality was delightful. I would say if you are heading to Castlebar, stay at Martina's B & B, she's grand! Thanks for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Martina and her house are both absolutely amazing. Her hospitality is excellent and the house and farm are just gorgeous. We were a group of 8 travelling around the west of Ireland and found ourselves two nights in her lovely home. Breakfast was no problem even with that many people eating at once, the rooms were really spacious and comfortable and all en-suite with proper fittings and plumbing. Our stay there was completely hassle free and Martina made every effort to accommodate our needs, including a shot of sambuca for a birthday celebration. I could recommend this property to anyone, and I will definitely be staying with her if I find myself out in Mayo again. Thanks for everything Martina.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are just huge so if Martina has the family rooms available, they are just enormous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Gates B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.