We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to spend an evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Gates B & B

Save Saved
You added The Garden Gates B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend an evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On a two week whirlwind trip through much of Ireland, my wife and I stayed one night at this very refreshing bed & breakfast in Castlebar, Ireland. Our room was very nice, the couple who run the B&B were very pleasant, and the breakfast was a typical "full Irish breakfast" and delicious. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling through Ireland and wanting to have the full Irish experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for 1 night here and found Martina to be very welcoming. The immediate feeling was one of relaxation and comfort. The house is very tastefully decorated, warm,comfortable and peaceful, without being boring. Just a short drive into busy Westport and surrounding areas makes it a good spot for the best of both!
The breakfast is the Best in the West, has to be tried.........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Garden Gates B&B was the second of four places we stayed on our circle tour of Ireland/Northern Ireland in Aug 2012. We chose it largely on the hugely positive reviews on Trip Advisor...and were not disappointed in the slightest.

Martina is super-friendy and runs a very professional B&B. Being a family of four (two adults, two teens), we were given one of her huge family rooms with one double bed and two twin beds. Even with all of our luggage spread out in various corners of the room, there was tons of space for the four of us. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The chocolates on the beds and the snacks on the table were a nice touch...our daughter loved the cake. The ensuite bathroom was also good size with a great shower.

Martina makes an excellent breakfast with a large number of choices. Over the course of our four-day stay, we probably tried most of her menu items. The smoked salmon is fantastic!

We used the Garden Gates B&B as a base for daytrips to the surrounding area including Foxford, Ceide Fields, Connemara and, of course, Westport (which is only 9 km to the west). One of our favourite activities on our vacation was attending the show at the Westport Hotel "The Legend of Grainne Mhaol". Martina recommended this musical show to us and it was well worth the price of admission. And to top it all off, one of the gas stations between Westport and the B&B has a TIm Hortons coffee shop...woo hoo!! (OK...you have to be Canadian to appreciate that fact).

All in all, a great stay and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Honey and Cocoa, Martina's two friendly dogs will be there to greet you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is hands down one of the best places I ever stayed in. The owner, Martina, is a very kind of hospitable lady. Our room was big and had a great view - we saw Croagh Patrick from our windows. The B&B is located alongside a very quiet countryroad, so you will not be bothered by anything basically. It is conveniently located in the middle of Castlebar and Westport. When we wanted to have dinner and some drinks in Westport, they dropped us of in town and arranged a taxi for the way back.

Utmost decent people, with delicious breakfast and genuine kindness. A gem you hope to find when escaping your busy job or city for a weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Garden Gates in 2009 and loved it then. It was just as wonderful this time. Martina is very welcoming, the breakfasts are outstanding, the room has all the amenities and comforts of home, and the location is very peaceful and beautiful. The B&B is located about 10 minutes from Westport and 10 minutes from Castlebar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

great room and bathroom, nice breakfast.
would definitely return again, good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

From the moment Martina , the proprietress, welcomed us over her threshold we knew would would love it here. Five days of perfect peace in all kinds of Irish weather, sharing the tranquility and beauty of our surroundings with Ginger, the mare, who we watched browsing the field from our bedroom window. Our room was warm and spacious with splendid far off views of fields and hills. After a wonderful sleep in an enormous bed we descended to a sumptuous breakfast (the breakfast menu was enormous too). After a day' s walking, wallowing in our hot bath crowned the day. This house proves the adage that the proprietor makes the place. The hospitality and friendliness we received were second to none. This was as far from the madding crowd as one could be.

Room Tip: Our room was to the rear of the house. It was large with an en suite bathroom.the views were excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Gates B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.