We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep comming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helena Choclates

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Helena Choclates
8 Cavendish Lane, Castlebar, Ireland
94 9022755
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Belgian
Restaurant details
Achill Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“keep comming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I pop over here every time I am in Castlebar, even if only for a quick coffee. Well worth a visit if you are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    11
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch in Castlebar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Found this Cafe off the Main Street in Castlebar - what a treat. Amazing chocolates to tempt you on the way in along with pastries and other local artisan produce, but we settled for savoury lunch. Delicious soup and sandwiches followed by lovely coffee and hot chocolate. Everything to eat is made on the premises and the chocolates are yummy. Subsequenltly found out a Master Chocolatier is the owner. Worth a detour!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great chocolate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is cosy, warm and very busy! The hot chocolate is really good one of the best I've ever had. The food is we presented and tasty and the portion size is good. Only slight problem is that the menu is not very extensive. As I'm. A local I don't go very often because the menu us always the same. Other than that can't recommend it highly enough

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland/derry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home cooked food and hand made chocolates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

stopped here for coffee and snack. I had a large slice of apple pie and cream with my coffee best home made pie I tasted in long time.
deslikes I had was the wife had to buy some of the chocolates they had on deplay and she made me eat them yum yum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A real treat for the family...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We 5 popped in to Helena chocolates for what was to be a coffee and turned in to chocolate heaven. coffee was lovely but so was the banana split with hot chocolate sauce, chocolate crepe, chocolate pastries and mini afternoon tea - it was all delicious and beautifully prepared. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena Choclates also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Helena Choclates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena Choclates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.