We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty Food - And Homemade Naans.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulsi Restaurant

Tulsi Restaurant
Lower Charles Street, Castlebar, Ireland
0949025066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 38 Restaurants in Castlebar
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Food - And Homemade Naans.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The place is located not too far off the shopping streets of Ennis, and is within walkable distance from the town centre.
The selection they have is very wide and with different options on starters and main courses. The menu is divided into categories after meat and as such your selection is quite easy.
The food is very tasteful and with lots of flavor, and you can order medium, hot or extra spicy. Dont forget to try the naan breads - really good.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Worst I ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Menu deceitful not a 4course meal as stated staff very unhelpful food rotten NEVer GO THERE. If u r anyway sane

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Congratulations to the staff of Tulsi! Had an amazing Indian meal last night with two business colleagues. The service was superb - friendly, helpful and attentive. Each course was beautifully presented. The house wine was delightful. I cannot say enough positives about this lovely restaurant - a real culinary experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If your value your health stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We should have turned back out as we went in,it was in darkness and then he switched on the lights.Sat down and looked through the menus,ordered our food and ordered wine and fizzy drinks.The ice cubes had green bits inside them...looked like parsley! The waiter took our order and then dissappered into the kitchen....to cook...and then microwaved and microwaved,he came out once or twice and back into the kitchen.Food was rotten we had prawns and the sauce was like thick soup with lots of coriander to cover up..toilets were a disgrace all mouldy and damp with a rope hanging down from the velux window...we quickly finished our wine and scrambled...the multitasking waiter kinda knew by our quick exit,stay away if you want to see another day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Strange Extremes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Tulsi used to be very good, but either standards have dropped dramatically, or you can just be unlucky about which chefs are working on a given night. What used to be well-seasoned, varied, and freshly prepared meals can unfortunately be really second-rate. When the veg is fresh, it's really fresh... but what was served to us the last time we ate here was the sort of "corrugated chopped frozen veg-mix" you'd find on sale in a supermarket freezer, with a bit of sauce to camouflage the lack of taste. To make matters worse, the poppadums USED to be crisp, fresh, gorgeously folded things (with little onion?seeds sprinkled through them) but they have been replaced with what I'd recognise as the shop-bought multi-pack variety. The decline in quality is very disappointing, and we assume it's cost-cutting measures (that are not reflected in the prices charged to the customer) :(

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulsi Restaurant also viewed

Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 
Castlebar, County Mayo
Castlebar, County Mayo
 

Been to Tulsi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulsi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.